You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem and Hive, the big fight

in #steem5 years ago

Good to know your opinion! One thing I thought I'd point out is the part where you said: "Nobody blocked you from Hive, they just didn't give you the airdrop. You were informed about who would not get the airdrop. You made your choices. It is what it is."

I think you might be under a false impression of part of the timeline of events. In this post delivered by some of the Korean folks of the Steem community it shows three classes of people that were excluded from the airdrop.

I can mostly see why they excluded the first two and don't have any problem with that. It's that third category that really rubs me the wrong way and it appears to effect 300 Steemians exactly. They wrote software to exclude that third group from the HIVE airdrop based on the following criteria.

Accounts excluded who voted a minimum of two sockpuppets or proxied someone who voted a minimum of two and who didn't unvote before the hive announcement with more than 1k sp.

As you can see, these individuals had to have not voted in prescribed manner before the announcement of HIVE. So in those instances, they were not in fact making a choice at all. Only a choice for who will be their witness on the Steem blockchain.

One of these "forbidden proxies" proxy.token had recently market itself as against down votes. And as far as I understand it that resonated strong with the Korean community. So, that proxy got a lot of Korean votes. I know this because I had voted for them before this whole Justin Sun thing came about. Yet, after further digging. It didn't appear they were truthful in their intent so I removed them.

Had I not discovered that, based on the spoopy rule I would have woken up one day to find that the community jumped ship to a new platform and left me holding a bag of steem tokens without affording me the same in HIVE solely because of who I voted for witness without having been given a proper warning or choice in the matter. Remember the third part of the category was who didn't unvote before the hive announcement with more than 1k sp.

So even thou I wasn't excluded, just like @builderofcastles mentioned. I think that "many people they saw steemit as the community and banked on it remaing to keep STEEM moving forward." IMO, it makes governance for HIVE look pretty bad and even contains a chilling effect now, don't vote for the wrong witnesses or else... or else who knows?

It gives me mixed feelings bout the new HIVE community and what kind of ethics it will have with regard to respecting the sanctity of how HIVEians vote for witnesses. If someone invests let's say 20k USD into HIVE and votes for the wrong witness, will they be soft forked out for voting incorrectly? It just seems like a real messed up situation to me. It's why I resolved to not vote for witnesses, and it was even suggested by a witness that perhaps that's for the best. Make of that what you will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56