Quora Just Turned On Spaces For MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

After logging into my Quora account for my last video "My Life Part 1" - I checked my messages and had one from Quora about "Spaces".
What are Spaces? "Spaces is basically a platform that allows people to create communities based on shared interests, allowing people to search within these communities or “Spaces” to find answers to questions they didn't even know they had. The feature is currently in beta testing mode, and has only been provided to elite Quora users."

The message I received read as follows:
"Dan, I've turned the ability to create Spaces on for you. You should now see a “Create Space” button."

quora1-min.png

"A few things to know:
When you pick your space name, we’d like you to pick a space name that’s unique, that couldn’t be confused with a topic name
Be sure to pick three topics and write an about section in settings
For the initial round of invited space hosts, we're asking that you not create meta-Quora spaces, or spaces about Quora itself. Eventually, this will be OK, but for now, we'd like to promote Spaces that are interesting to people on and off Quora
A day or so after you get your first posts up, we’ll start showing this to A LOT of people!
Adding contributors is kind of a bear; you can only invite people who follow you or are following the space.
If you’d like to join the Quora Spaces feedback group, click here"

Interesting. This part especially caught my eye "A day or so after you get your first posts up, we’ll start showing this to A LOT of people!". I have shunned Quora since finding Steem, but I can't help but notice an opportunity when it's waving at me.

What do you think? Maybe a "Blockchain Space" where people can learn more about how Steem works.

Sort:  

Dan, you are right to take a second look when opportunity knocks, in fact you have trained yourself to do so.

I think you should pick a more generally named space (blockchain space is good, but better would be Decentralized Future Space or something where its easier to steer the conversation) and pick three subjects (topics) that are not steem (ie social media, business and government) and then just use steem as an example for everything (since its what you know, after all).

Quite a good opportunity to advertise or to tell news about blockchain particularly steem @theycallmedan because steem really needs to get known to people because it is more than social media platform, it has a lot of use case for different people with different interests like games, vblogs, blogs, or even gambling too.

All means of promotion is important, and makes steemit more solid, great things can be done if we all give promises from the applications we handle.

I wish we had kept growing musing.io, which was quickly building ground in the "community answered questions" area!

Congratulations on your new ability to create a space and it is always good to chat about blockchains!

I am against centralized social media, so if I did it would be to enlighten people about decentralization.

Yeah, I gathered that... but the clarification is good!

Definitely a great opportunity to talk about Blockchain and its use cases. Maybe even do some spotlights on Dapps currently being used to demonstrate the capabilities and flexibility of the technology!

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are no coincidences.

Blockchain Space or Crypto Space.. Both are pretty general. #STEEM Space, if they allow it, would be great!

I wonder, can one create Sub-Spaces (Categories) within Spaces?

Thanks, @theycallmedan!!!

I am not sure but the spaces seem really relaxed. I am think of "Lets Talk Crypto" as one of my spaces.

I like it.. Simple and encourages people to #engage!

Every opportunity where you can advertise Esteemit is important. I'm going to read a bit about quora

I think I might have to get on Quora and shill cryptos 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

You'll have plenty of company

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you even sleep!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not really, I’m a vampire 🧛🏼‍♂️🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh am just half blood 🧛😂😂🤫😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll tailgate 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy for you man! However, my heart still goes out for @Musing which was a representation of Quora on the #steem blockchain. The withdrawal of her delegation was a huge setback. I saw @Musing as a gateway to take #steem into the mainstream. I still believe though due to its perculiarities.

That's an awesome opportunity. Do it!!

Posted using Partiko Android

What is the need open Ouora account??And you Iife part 1 and 2 I have seen these are very beautiful

To spread the word about Steem would be a good reason to open a Quora account. I personally am against those types of sites, which is why I quit for Steem. However, more eyeballs on Steem, but more importantly how Steem works is a plus for everyone here, IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36