How to get more Steem

in #steem7 years ago

I'd be lying if I said I understand how to use Steemit. The same amount of upvotes, I can have $5 worth of steem and for another, I can have $0.

I am just musing here, because I really don't know if I get this entire premise. According to Neil Strauss, he just had to log on and post some of his more famous work and hey presto, he received a ton of Steem. Is it really that simple?

Maybe you guys can comment below. I will have plenty more posts to come but at this stage, all I see is people posting about Steem. Is this really a place for bloggers?

Sincerely,
Confused.

Sort:  

If you are famous, it may be thst easy... sometimes... but for the rest of us, making excellent, entertaining, and engaging posts that eventually build a following and attract tge attention of steemians with more Steem Power is the way to try to go.

There is no guarantee, but there is opportunity and potential. Steem on!

Hello @thetvsleaking

Yes, this is really a place for bloggers, investors and people that like to read, comment and vote to get curation reward.


I am mostly an investor. I buy STEEM on bittrex.com and transfer them to my Wallet and power up to Steem Power. When I vote people get more because of my Steem Power. If you look at your votes in this post my name are on top. That means I gave you the most $.

Advice: have picture, gifs and videos in your post. That gives more votes. People like that.


Regards
Ramta the Viking of Norway

Nice comment @ramta!

Way to educate and encourage, we need more of that around here!

Thank you @papa-pepper

I think you are the king when it comes to educate and encourage!

I simply love your whole family!


Have a nice day.

I try to help and encourage, so thank you very much for that @ramta!

Dear Confused,
The votes are weighted by the amount of SteemPower an account holds.
Large Stakeholders' votes give more value to your post.
There is no magical free money here, but there is an opportunity if you choose to accept it.

Dear whatsup,

I am aware of this. So I just happened to get 40 or so upvotes on the same post that were from people who hold low value? And this is normal? Just to confirm. Thanks

Hello,

Yes, it can be normal to receive a lot of votes of low value. Someone who voted on your post could have a bot trail or a voting trail. Often it is the little accounts that are working on trying to power up. Hopefully, they will continue to follow your work and give you an upvote when they are bigger and can add more value.
Sometimes they can indicate that larger accounts will vote next for curation rewards on their smaller accounts.

I am in total disagreement entirely with this last comment @whatsup. Unless, you are forgetting (on purpose or otherwise) that a good chunk of these votes also comes from Real People who are True Readers who actually take the trouble to read the whole damn thing first before go blindly upvoting every shit around. That's what appreciative votes & engagement should be in first place. Well, at least from low value & little user accounts like mine.

Maybe you guys can comment below. I will have plenty more posts to come but at this stage, all I see is people posting about Steem. Is this really a place for bloggers?

My take on this is that you are completely correct - this is a weakness for now. On a blogging platform (like blogger or wordpress), we'd expect to see the most popular topics center around health, fitness, sex, community, etc. We do see a lot of Steem-centric tags.

I am guessing that this will work itself out. For SteemIt to be a blogging platform, it must move to a place where real-world topics are the focus.

Good post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32