Pulling My Hair Out - Why does this have to be so complexsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

I mistakenly did not select the 'Power up 100%' option for a couple of posts and accrued some Steem. Today I decided to transfer these Steem into Savings. Well, I have no idea why this should be such a complicated affair.

image Credit

So when starting the transfer I get ...

@themagus

Password or WIF

This operation requires your Active or Owner key or Master password.

So I go fetch this one .....

ACTIVE

The active key is used to make transfers and place orders in the internal market.

I paste that key in and it tells me I need an active key ???????????? I tried clicking on 'Show Private Key' for posting etc... all the visible and hidden keys give the same response.

{meanders off to find someone MUCH smaller to beat up}

Okay I feel much better now, though I cannot say the same for the crippled midget I vented my anger on.....

If I am logged in and posting, why does it ask me to log in when doing the transaction? I is dazed and confused.
Hopefully in 2 years time when I may want to start utilizing some of my Steem Power I will have a smoother ride.

But in the meantime can someone please clarify my shortcomings here.... would be much appreciated... even if it is just pointing me to a place where I can read up about this!!


Image Credit

Sort:  

Most of us like KISS (Keep it Simple Silly)
Some Geeks like PENIS (positively exasperatingly NOT intuitively simple)

LOL......an acronym to remember

I thought long and hard on that. If you can improve on it feel free..but my point remains.

If I am logged in and posting, why does it ask me to log in when doing the transaction? I is dazed and confused.

Because the posting key is not valid for transactions.
You need the active* or the owner key* to transfer funds.
*private

I used the key that says 'ACTIVE' and under the key it says 'This key is used to do transfers internally'..That is pretty clear english I think.... this one...
ACTIVE
The active key is used to make transfers and place orders in the internal market.
And that was what I was trying to do.

If you use the private active key that should really work.

Maybe you made a mistake when copying the key ?

I will try when I get home tonight. I do not have my password at work.... thanks for taking time to respond.

I think you need to use that looooong password you got when starting your account. And type it, not paste it in.

uh uh .... that is not going to happen @onetree. I am damn sure I will get a typo almost everytime. Do you KNOW how long that was {wide eyed stare}

I DO know!!! I have it written down in 3 places.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

born out of frustration..... but thanks.

Stop spamming !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37