My Curation StrategysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem8 years ago

I posted before about why my curation rewards were basically non-existent, so I'm happy to report that I took one user's advice and shifted my strategy a bit which has resulted in more consistent rewards.

Before, I was sticking mostly to the "new" section and aiming for posts that were around 30 mins old. My mistake was that I didn't pay any attention to the reputation of any users when upvoting. So now I go to the "hot" section and first look only for users with reps in the upper 50's and higher(no offense to lower rep folks of course). Then I look for which posts seem to be gaining traction and have been posted within 30 mins to and hour.

Of course, I won't upvote it if I seriously disagree with what the post says or if I just simply don't dig the post. Any comments or suggestions about this strategy? Could it be improved?

Sort:  

I'm doing a curation experiment right now, and I'm voting entirely from the New section, and voting for new authors too, but am seeing very good results. I'll be posting my results on Tuesday, but you can go to my profile to see the curation awards if you like.

There are lots of different strategies people can try, and it doesn't hurt to give new authors a go at all!

If I am interrupting your strategy correctly, are you implying that you are receiving higher rewards by upvoting posts written by authors who have a reputation score higher than 55, in the first 60 minutes the post went live?

Yes. Before, I was liking posts by people with reps in the 20's and 30's and I think this made a difference. I'm not making crazy amounts from curation currently, but the rewards are more consistent.

It's an interesting experiment. Thanks for sharing your observations.

I don't think you can get rewards after 30 min. It's best to hit them at about the 15-20 minute mark to early and you give away most of your reward to the author, to late and you have more people to share it with.

This is not correct. See the following FAQ

https://steemit.com/steemit/@shenanigator/official-steemit-faq-rough-draft-your-edits-are-needed

If a post is upvoted the moment it's posted, 100% goes to the author
If a post is upvoted 30 min after posting, 100% of the curation award goes to the curator.
Between 0 and 30 minutes, each moment that passes, more of the reward goes to the curator.
At 15 minutes it's a 50/50 split.
At 23 minutes, 90% goes to the author and 10% to the curator
At 27 minutes, 10% goes to the author and 90% to the curator

Your best strategy is to vote at or after 30 minutes, but before a whale.

Good point, I try to aim for the 30 min mark, but the only issue with that is that I'm not available online all day to check for newer posts, so I can only do my upvoting within a certain window of time.

This may be a dumb question, so forgive me. Where is the "hot" section? How do I get there? Am I missing something? Thanks in advance.

It appears at the top of the home page:

home new hot trending promoted active

So let me get this right, I'm new to Steemit. Steemit is not about quality content but recieving awards and scoring points by timing and other people's reputations? Makes me think about a Black Mirror episode called Nosedive. I'm a little disappointed as I thought there was more integrity for content quality here then simply strategizing for points. Am I wrong?

the life isn't Black Mirror vs White Unicorns. Those incentives aiming to reward early appreciation of good stuff, thus encouraging the creators 2 make more. Are they effective? u can measure and argue, but integrity... What is it? would u lose some of it if your comment is upvoted big time?

Thanks for the post. Trying to figure out a good strategy myself where we all benefit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57