Sort:  

me too - need to wait for a new windows version after the hack- or load ubuntu-- I'm trying ubuntu in a VM, will let you know if that works

That's where I'm headed after I walk the dogs, keep us posted and good luck :-).

it works in ubuntu! But here's the caveat- do NOT download the blockchain zip or you will be stuck at that "0" again... just let it download .... if you already downloaded the blockchain (like I did) then you need to delete it in ubuntu with the sudo rm witness_node_data_dir to delete that folder .. run steem ./steemd ctrl c to close it... go to steem/programs/steemd with the cd command then nano config.ini to reconfigure that.. ctrl o ctrl x then go back to the steemd directory and run steem again and it should start building

So if I made it to the mining 1hps I've done it correctly? Also where do the additional witness accounts come from to mine into?

see my reply to carson below-- couldn't reply to your reply for some reason

I thought I am the only one having the problem, as I searched and haven't seen anyone talk about this.
My guess was because of the hack, so ubuntu in VM is the way to go then

so far it looks like it is the way to go- the 1 hps is it building- I'm letting it sit overnight and see by morning if it starts mining for real ... additional miner accounts- here's what I read "I was informed that you only should have one active witness on your node computer. On all of the slaves leave the "# name of witness controlled by this node (e.g. initwitness )" blank with a # but you can copy over the configuration in line below it "# name of miner and its private key (e.g. ["account","WIF PRIVATE KEY"] )""

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90