Nearing the end of our 250 minnows in a month challengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This project was started by @steevc over a month ago and various people have joined in to support it. The overall object is to get to 10,000 minnows on Steem. There is no deadline for this, but end of this year would be great. The current figure is 9318 according to stats from @arcange. @paulag came up with a target of creating 250 new minnows in a month. Getting the total up is hard as so many people are powering down.

Counts

If we do a count of how many people have moved from redfish to minnow, then we have achieved her goal. There are five days left, so there is a chance to make a few more new minnows.

Minnows

What we need to do is to encourage people to power up and stick with Steem. It may seem a struggle to make much, but if you make it fun then you will want to come back, as you would on platforms that do not pay you. At least on Steem you can make something.

For those striving to become minnows:

  • Do not power down.
  • Power up all the Steem and Steem Dollars you have.
  • Make sure you have a few posts each week that people can vote on.
  • Make good comments that can earn votes.
  • Enter contests that pay out Steem and SBD.
  • Use your votes to support other redfish. You have 10 full votes each day if you want your voting power to fully recharge.
  • Buy some Steem and power it up if you can. The price could easily go much higher.

For Dolphins, orcas and whales:

  • Support the smaller accounts who are doing good work. We need more of them to make Steem viable.
  • Delegate to redfish who are doing good curation.
  • Buy @SteemBasicIncome shares for redfish. You earn from those too.
  • Resteem good posts that deserve more support.

If the bigger accounts can get by with fewer self-votes and a little less curation rewards from supporting the more popular users they can make a big difference to the 'small fry'.

We all benefit from a larger active Steem community. It is what we need to make it an attractive platform for those who seek an audience.

Steem on!

Update: Why did I type 250 in a week! That would be really ambitious. Fixed the title, but the URL will remain.

Sort:  

Great progress! Hoping to see millions of minnows eventually...

Great progress! Hoping
To see millions of minnows
Eventually...

                 - josephsavage


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I pronounce eventually as four syllables, not five, but nice try!

#sbi-skip

This is very informative. Thanks for sharing @tenkminnows
As I just checked mine and it seems that I'm a red fish now. 😀
I guess with your suggestions and with the help of people with whom I am surrounded with @paulag @brittandjosie @wolfhart @apolymask @medro-martin and @thekittygirl I can climb to be a minnow sooner or later. 😇

Posted using Partiko Android

yes your a red fish 😊
I see you have been powering up 👍

Indeed I am.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see you just started here, but stick with it. Success takes time and effort. Make it fun and you will want to keep coming back.

@tenkminnows thanks for motivating. Sharing some positive vibes by my posts to add some value in this community that's the only plan now.

Posted using Partiko Android

People who power down, what are they going to spend it on? I can understand some use the reward as income as it can go far in some parts of the world.

But even holding onto a few hundred dollars of STEEM could drastically change someone's life.

If Bitcoin (as many are expecting), does another 10x from its last peak, we are talking $200,000 bitcoin. What do you think the steem price would be?

Let's assume steem just keeps up, 10x from last peak of $8, is $80.

A minnow account would be worth $40,000. That's a deposit on a house or college fees.

So I am holding on and I am pleased to see 251 people power up to minnow level.

Posted using Partiko Android

There's a lot of uncertainty around crypto and some people cannot afford the risk even if it may seem like small change to others. I just hope that it can help many who struggle to earn a living otherwise.

Having watched many come and go while I've been here for my first year, I've noticed people making some good income. It won't be long before their friends and family notice and want a bit of the action.

Price volatility is scary, but mostly on the way down. I can imagine more people holding on if they start seeing some serious upwards price action.

I share the same hope as you. It would be great if steem can be a vehicle to create community and have the price of STEEM reflect it's growth and popularity.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have a good basis for something big, but we have to help it take the next step by building the community.

On the bright side, steem has doubled in value compared to its recent lows. So we now have twice the financial incentive for users to join and stay involved.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's very true. We just have to watch that people do not increase abuse of the system.

I live off of steem and steem-related money and power down weekly. I am not alone doing this in the third world. A guy in Indonesia already bought a house with steem (not a deposit - the whole house) and inspired another man there to renovate a wreck into a place his family can live in.

My rent is 85 usd a month. My sp still grows because I work hard here blogging, commenting, chasing bounties, helping other people with their blogs. If I could not take the cash out, I could not afford to be here.

I have been taking the money since Oct 2017 and living on it for 90% of my needs since Dec 2017. The huge price jump last spring meant I was able to survive well into August last year and take less out at that time. When the price is low, I make do.

More people than you can imagine can eat for $5 a week.

I totally get that. But I wonder how many will regret selling when steem hits it's next all time high?

For me, I will release around 10% of my personal holdings at $50/steem and a little more at $100/steem.

If things go well, I hope I can get passive income from just curation.

It's great to hear about the guy who bought a house, is there a post about it? Would love to share that on twitter. Many crypto doubters there

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s great to hear from you @fitinfun ! Early adopters should benefit definitely out of it! And of course longer you keep investing your time in the platform that’s very important as well! Great work from your side again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Same here my friend @kabir88 we gonna see steem at $80 at the end of 2020 pretty positive about that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think these are great initiatives... and I'm glad to see there was some progress happening!

Perhaps one of the important things we could all focus on — in terms of education and how we market Steem to the outside world — is to get away from make money and instead approach the money angle from the perspective of a long-term savings plan.

We have this pervasive "power down" problem because too many people have this idea that you can generate current income here... which is counterproductive.

=^..^=

Steem is not really a 'get rich quick' scheme. You have to put in some work if you want to build something with long-term potential and the success of Steem depends on us all. It's a long way from critical mass, but anything is possible.

Well done! You can take a horse to water, but you can not make it drink.

A healthy economy has spenders and savers, this is fine!

:) Celebrate success.

Thank you @whatsup, you are so right, a healthy economy does need savers and spenders 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Once we hit 10k minnows.. will it be time for 2000 Dolphins? :D

We need that too, but it's more of a challenge. Really we need a million minnows, but we have to pick targets we have a chance of achieving

Amazing work. I've benefited hugely at a point where I may not have carried on with quite the same enthusiasm if it wasn't for this awesome project. You've helped me minnow up and given me lots to shout about. Cheers!

Great job! Let's keep this going, I love the platform. @farm-mom

congratulation
well done. 👍
this is the building blocks to our platform, minnows !

Really great post! Me my self I found steem back in January 2019 I wish I had started early! But for now I’m investing in my account and the community’s by delegating my power to few of them that i really like! And for future is gonna stay that way! Steem community is keep building great platforms around steem and I would love to enjoy more and more of them in future! I also try to make my friends start using it by creating more then 20 accounts for all of them but no one started using it, because they also don’t understand it! And they prefer to like in Facebook and Instagram for nothing instead of using steem and get payed for that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It looks like you have made a good start on building up your account. Keep pushing with your friends and show them what good content there is here. Part of why people use certain sites is down to the people who are there and we need to build the Steem community to make it more attractive.

Yep I did but how I mention is not even that easy to explain them that Like = money! They just don’t get it and some of them are like and what I’ll get $0.001 per like that’s nothing and sometimes they say something like this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05