You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 20 (“Velocity”) development update

in #steem7 years ago

I tend to vote a lot but at low percentages. Wouldn't this change encourage people to be "stingy" with smaller votes? If I am making more off 100% posts, then why should I give 10% to 100 posts if I can get more by giving 100% to 10 posts? Or am I getting the math very wrong (again)?

Sort:  

It agree. It would also bet better for the website overall since people would view much more content

It seems that if I understand it correctly, on a 100% vote you have 1.2SP less, on a 1% vote you have 120SP less. Which is maybe a cent or so? Not much.

Preciously small votes were bigger than big votes, maybe that will now change a bit.

:scratches head:

I am going to keep giving out 5% and 10% votes like I have been doing. I might be losing money, but I rather encourage more people to post and comment. Also, I will always suck at math.

You have about 3000 SP, so a 10% vote from you is using 300 SP. That is, the difference of the 1.219 SP deduction is a reduction in the power of that vote by about 0.3%, so you won't even notice it.

Gotcha! I actually have a delegation from a kind shy whale so I can curate like a madwoman (which I do), so my voting SP is around 40,000 SP. In other words - I really won't notice.

Thank you for the explanation! <3

We will see how that new thing plays out and if it has an impact at all :)

I completely agree. I think this change will discourage whales or dolphins to distribute their big upvote to many minnows or newcomers.

This is also a death to the voting bot for minnows, who cannot afford to spend much SBDs on high percentage votes.
That will be interesting to see how it works out in the prod environment.

Voting bots need to die anyway. All of them. There isn't a single one that operates in the way Steemit is supposed to distribute rewards.

Minnowbooster will probably be affected, as we vote with 1 cent votes if wanted. We will try it out and report if it makes any issues. I am currently not worried.

You have 3200 SP. This means that if you vote with .0375% power, the vote will be logged in the blockchain but will have no impact on the reward pool. The practical impact of this change is that the tiny minority of extremely weak votes will have no impact on the rewards pool. There is no reason to take this into account when you are being active on the platform. All of the changes we do are always designed to ensure that the vast majority of users can just use the site intuitively. This change has no practical effect on anyone who isn't intentionally voting with insanely weak votes. Since the deduction of 1.2 SP per votes is applied across the board, everyone is effected equally, therefore there is no reason to adjust your behaviors, again assuming you aren't one of the people vote spamming.

Since all my votes are manual (no longer trailing anyone), I never vote below 1% anyways cause there's no such option in the interface. It only goes down to 1%. I vote on about 100 posts a day so I guess you could call it vote-spamming if you really wanted to. Or an addiction. Or both.

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55