You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 20 (“Velocity”) development update

in #steem7 years ago

It seems that if I understand it correctly, on a 100% vote you have 1.2SP less, on a 1% vote you have 120SP less. Which is maybe a cent or so? Not much.

Preciously small votes were bigger than big votes, maybe that will now change a bit.

Sort:  

:scratches head:

I am going to keep giving out 5% and 10% votes like I have been doing. I might be losing money, but I rather encourage more people to post and comment. Also, I will always suck at math.

You have about 3000 SP, so a 10% vote from you is using 300 SP. That is, the difference of the 1.219 SP deduction is a reduction in the power of that vote by about 0.3%, so you won't even notice it.

Gotcha! I actually have a delegation from a kind shy whale so I can curate like a madwoman (which I do), so my voting SP is around 40,000 SP. In other words - I really won't notice.

Thank you for the explanation! <3

We will see how that new thing plays out and if it has an impact at all :)

I completely agree. I think this change will discourage whales or dolphins to distribute their big upvote to many minnows or newcomers.

This is also a death to the voting bot for minnows, who cannot afford to spend much SBDs on high percentage votes.
That will be interesting to see how it works out in the prod environment.

Voting bots need to die anyway. All of them. There isn't a single one that operates in the way Steemit is supposed to distribute rewards.

Minnowbooster will probably be affected, as we vote with 1 cent votes if wanted. We will try it out and report if it makes any issues. I am currently not worried.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41