Masturposting UPDATE -- A solution has been reached to prevent spam posting and will be implemented in 5 days.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Masturposting dog might not be happy with 0.12.0...

A solution has been reached!

As a follow up to my post from yesterday on a possible fix to frequent overposting from users, a solution has been implemented by the devs, available on the steem github page. And the takeaway? Spammers beware!

So what's new?

Users will be incentivized to only post up to 4 times in a 24 hour period. If more posts are entered within that time frame, your returns diminish with how many times you post on average. You can read more below:

Issue #176

Each root level comment has a reward weight which impacts the end payout of the post. We are targeting 4 posts in 24 hours. Your first 4 posts in 24 hours will not be penalized. After that, they weight is decreased from 100% based on your average posting frequency. Having a frequency just barely higher than 1 every 6 hours will have very little impact, while spamming will be penalized heavily. This change is aimed to increase the quality of content at the cost of quantity.

Will this help solve our spamming problem? Or be a hindrance to the creation of new content?

Only time will tell. However, I would just like to add this thought. Usually for a blog post, it is taking me a few hours plus just to collect my thoughts, let alone the additional time it takes for me to proofread, check markdown, and collect images. Then when my wife proofreads, well, don't get me started!

I have never personally posted more than four times in a 24 hour period before, and I couldn't think of any time where I would want to. My time here so far has changed the way I think about my writing and I feel I am getting better at it as I go along. I consider every blog post like a job interview, and I don't want to fool around with my time or anyone else's time either.

What do you think steem? Is four times in 24 hours fair to you?

Sort:  

I think this will make people want to create more accounts to have less of an impact on the posts. I think there is also a lot of money and learning to be done in comments. I don't think you need to post something to be heard. I find myself either posting tons of articles that I find funny and getting $.05 each or creating long articles about concepts I understand or want to learn about and gaining $.50. I hope that this update will mean less spammers and in return allow my $.50 articles to have more views and for more people to appreciate what I have to say. Thank you!

I enjoy commenting as well, but for trending posts, I find it hard to find anything really new to say that hasn't already been said before. With new posts, its hard to weed through the sea of crap posts to get to meaningful gems that are enjoyable to read.

One of the other fixes in the next hard fork is to the mechanism for post payouts, which will ultimately help more quality posts hit the trending page that might not otherwise. I am excited for that as well.

Well to your point, new posts are hard to weed through because there is so much crap. This crap will be... less... you will have to look through a pond instead of a lake. This is my hope anyway. Otherwise it will only be taking power away from people without any benefit to the system.
I am also excited about that. I really am really glad to see the dev's are working to get my hard work and your hard work to the front page.
Good luck and thanks for sharing!

I think you are right on with the multiple accounts. Until this gets to scale with something like a OneID verified blockchain system, it is like playing whack-a-mole.

Maybe the best way to think about this hard fork is as a reincentivization of curating quality content and not necessarily a total fix on spam.

I like that idea, the only people is we aren't the ones who will do anything about it. If you haven't noticed, this and many other quality articles aren't heard by the masses.

I hadn't thought of the multiple accounts. Good point.
It WOULD allow me to post a photography post AND a Cannabis post, each day without weight penalties.
Good Stuff. :)

Keep it Clean!


My Blog Posts, Neatly Categorized!

Just an idea, I assume spammers will find the path of least resistance. It just helps us promote our quality articles over a youtube link or other posts. I have done some of these and not only do they not really provide you with anything, they really don't add anything to steemit. This fork will help push me to make better content. Thanks for responding!

I'm not sure. for minnows this is the only way they can get noticed.

Whales however just have to drop one post for 10k.

I'm really concerned that soon a lot of the minnows are going to start leaving :/ i've gotten noticed so I can't complain but I feel for my minnow brothers :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00