Sandbox-ing the future

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I talk about steem a fair bit but it isn't because I am a cheerleader, nor am I a hater. I think I give and take fairly evenhandedly in various ways on this platform and I hope I do more to benefit it than harm it in the long-term position. I know that not all of my ideas are achievable or even wanted if they were and I also know that I get things wrong or confused from time to time. I am okay with this approach I am okay with experimenting here and failing, this is my Sandbox.

I am not much very knowledgeable about program creation but a sandbox is defined as:

It is often used to execute untested or untrusted programs or code, possibly from unverified or untrusted third parties, suppliers, users or websites, without risking harm to the host machine or operating system

The reason Steem is my sandbox is essentially because it is a safe place for me to play around with a range of ideas and processes that I haven't been able or willing to in the real world. There is a cost to attempt things in the real world as people you know are going to judge you on them and that can come with a penalty, especially if you are like me and run a one-person consultancy where word of mouth is the advertising.

Here, I feel free enough that I can write poetry and fiction, I can look into psychology and philosophy, present my photos or talk about financial matters and the struggles I face in the real world. It is pretty amazing to have this kind of outlet and, it is pretty amazing to have been able to surround myself with people who are on a similar journey along different paths themselves.

It is also an incredible place to learn and for me, one of the largest and steepest learning curves is to put myself in 'harms way' presenting negatives, criticizing or, looking into topics that are not uncontroversial in nature. It hasn't been this way for most of my life even though I am happy to play devil's advocate and take the fall. That sounds like a contradiction but in the walking world, I am able to build up the relationship that allows for open discussion but here, all-comers are welcome to join in the conversation. Normally in such an environment I would err on the side of caution but here, I feel somewhat empowered to speak openly.

This is quite strange considering I am actually aware of the immutability of the blockchain and that one day, someone may take my words and twist them into mean something else less charitably and, there would be little I can do except say, "yep, I wrote that once upon a time." Of course, the once upon a time will be dropped off the narrative as it makes it sound like people can change, and of course, that is not true. We are all the same no matter our age, experience or the new information we have added to our mental toolkit.

I wonder if people will note the sarcasm?

But, it is in this sandbox that I can dig around with my plastic shovel and, much like my daughter in the picture above, fill my bucket with what I have uncovered. Each piece of writing here reveals more to me and, more from me and one day, if someone want to go through and read the 1.7 million odd words I have written in the sand so far and whatever is to come, they would likely get a pretty good idea of what kind of person I am and would also likely see a clear line of progression.

They would see me change form as they read, shift back and forth across blurry lines and take sides I might not once have taken and perhaps switch back again. This is not about a lack of commitment, it is about increasing commitment to discovery, understanding and the application to accomplishing my life's purpose which has two main points.

  • Find out who I am
  • Use who I am to make the world better

This requires an endless querying of myself and the environment along an always moving path with twists and turns that has no terminus other than death. I am not planning on dying soon though, I have too many questions that are currently unanswered. It would piss me off to have so many open mental loops in the eternal blackness some think will be an afterlife.... maybe that triggered someone. Good, they can use it to query their own experience too.

When it comes to a place with the space to explore the who am I and the how can I make the world better? questions, I am yet to find a more effective space than this. On my journey across this blockchain has progressed, I have learned a great many things about me, my world and other people that inhabit it and, the more I traverse, the more potential and opportunity I see and have available to act for better.

No, Steem isn't perfect, there are many problems that it faces today and will face tomorrow but, no matter what happens in the future, people can invest themselves into doing the work here that will fundamentally change the world. Their world.

What more can someone really ask for from this life?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Do you even know how much you described the relation between @sndbox and me?:) That actually is the reason why we run by the name of Sndbox i guess:) It was perfectly chosen...

lol. I have so little idea of what @sndbox is, other than seeing the tag and posts around. It is for artists?

Basically artists and project builders. Vast majority of the text perfectly describes the whole endeavour...You unconsciously managed to "write down" my feelings about @sndbox.

that is kind of cool.

Of course, the once upon a time will be dropped off the narrative as it makes it sound like people can change, and of course, that is not true.

I wonder if people will note the sarcasm?

}:)---(:{

Hi Taraz. I thought a sand box was for cats to defacate in or for kids to play in. I understand that Steemit is your play area and you don't hold back. i don't think many get the sarcasm or leg pulling. That is for them to learn to get to know you though. I can't change my humour for this place as that is who I am.

It is a pretty interesting place and there definitely are plenty of cats at Steem...

You see that is funny. It made me smile.

For developers a sandbox is a protected area where your code does not meet the real world. In the real world a sandbox does not meet developers, rather cats and/or kids. I recommend or, not and.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Certainly, @tarazkp. Steemit can give us the opportunity to say what it would surely cost us to say in our environment. This platform gives us the opportunity to explore our skills and project them to others. Until recently my texts were only in my memory and in a desk drawer. Now I dare to publish them and have them commented on. Like everything else, there are flaws, but they can surely be overcome. This box is a space that we are making our own and the only way to achieve it is to occupy it, playing, creating! Beautiful night.

Of course, the once upon a time will be dropped off the narrative as it makes it sound like people can change, and of course, that is not true. We are all the same no matter our age, experience or the new information we have added to our mental toolkit.
Yes, I noticed the sarcasm. We are always changing so our words in the past shouldn't put us inside a box.

Well we have to remember that decision taken in the past were taking with the knowledge of the past and not with the knowledge we possess now! The same goes for the writing!
It would be stupid to think that people can't change their ideas, opinions of view points! And yes here on the blockchain everything is everlasting! So people can tackle you if they want!
But why would people like to do that? No idea, I can't think about a post you wrote, which would have created enemies! Maybe there are jealous people on the chain, jealous on your success, your writing capabilities and jealous on the number of post you are able to deliver (okay the ones is better than the other, but all have a standard quality). So yes, these could try to tackly or hunt you.
But who does have the problem then? You of they. They could try to start a FUD campaing but I do guess and hope that you have lots of genuine followers who will back you! At least I would!
So keep on going. Explore Steem, explore the possibilities and experiment! That why it is a sandbox. See what works and see what doesn't!
That's is what I am doing! Trying to write post outside of my comfort zone, like the one of yesterday, trying to do contest and see if they are profitbale and so on ...
We all have our reasons to be here!

Cheers,
Peter

agree. we're evolving through our posting choices and through the platform itself.

"What more can someone really ask for from this life?" Entrance to the next? If not that then fun in this one.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 35

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54