No longer a Steemit original

in #steem6 years ago

The weekends are always quiet here and the flow of content (and type) reflects that people other than a few of us actually have lives in the real world. Good for them. This also tends to mean that there are less curators in the waters too so votes are down, comments are down and everything seems a little slower.

For me, I use it as downtime too to some degree, a space in the week where I can relax a little (unless there is something important I have on my mind) and have casual discussions. I think most of my poetry is written over the weekends too as I tend to feel more open then. Perhaps it is because during the week I have to spend so much time thinking across work lines.

Tonight, I thought I would write just a little about Steem and how fast it is beginning to reshape itself. I think there is finally the understanding that Steemit is not Steem and the developers are ramping up their efforts to decentralize the platform further. This is going to attract new users that will be platform specific and is likely to lead to new communities that never see each other. It is a little sad in a way but, also to be expected as language and interest groups continue to break away from the core.

I read a post by @acidyo today about Germany's second largest stock exchange setting up a crypto exchange. It is going to be these things that are going to drive interest in blockchain, tech and of course coins that will drive price. However, it is also going to drive people to have a look at usage such as Steem.

When it comes to demonstrating capabilities of blockchain and earning upon it, Steem is a pretty good example considering the platform has paid out something like 50 million in Steem over the last 2 years alone. Considering it is still in Beta with ~60k humans and ~30k active accounts, that is quite significant.

But, as I said, Steemit isn't Steem and even if the Steemit platform fails, Steem still has many other options. and value potentials. It is also very likely that people will migrate to new, more capable interfaces than steemit.com itself as the new developments will better utilise the capabilities and offer a UI and UX that is better suited to humans, rather than crypto people and bots.

What this means is that we will all start losing our connections to Steemit as we pick up the new apps and their various branding. For example, I am posting this on @busy.org which has a few options that make posting a little easier although, I would love a night mode @fabien as my retinas are burning.

Due to this detachment of Steem from Steemit, I too am going to have to make a massive change to my posts. For I don't know how long I have been signing off with, [ a Steemit original ] but now, I am going to do the unthinkable and use, [ a Steem original ].

I know, I know, calm down... I am not selling out.

Actually, this is something that I have to come to terms with in various ways as the usage of the platform changes. No matter whether I am happy with it or not, there are going to be factors that are just the way they are, even though they may change in the future.

There are always going to be scammers where there is a chance for gain, maximizers when there are ways to increase profits and arguments over what are the best steps forward. For me to be able to influence it in way that I think is healthy, I am going to have to adjust and grow with it or become irrelevant and useless.

When I work with clients to develop their skillsets, there are always factors that are necessary to do but uncomfortable given the type. At times, it feels like one step forward and two backward but, if there is an overarching plan that is more valuable than the short-term discomfort, it has to be done.

For me, this is my want to build something here for the future. Someone commented today when I wrote about my IRL work a bit that it is good that I am earning both fiat and crypto but, I actually have no choice. I need the fiat to live, I don't use crypto, I power it up (Yes, I take some out and diversify a little too). I work very hard for a future here and I am hoping that at some point, I will be able to play a much more active role in the Steem platforms itself, that takes stake and since I am not someone who gets delegations, I have to build that stake myself.

Some people might look at my wallet and be jealous, others laugh at its insignificance but, I for me, it is my investment into something I find important, not just a way that I can pay bills on things I don't need. My experience in this life is if you find something important enough to have, work for it so, that is what I am doing. Inch by inch, Steem by Steem.

As said, this platform is changing rapidly and with SMTs and Oracles on their way in combination with Hivemind and hardforks, what we see today might be unrecognizable tomorrow. I plan on not only being here but, being here as a support structure for others both now and in the future to arrive.

The future is always uncertain however, I am not going to ever stop working toward a better one.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

< SHILL >

A STEEM ORIGINAL

< /SHILL >

lol. I should really add 'SHILL' into the tags too...

Lolololololololol

Hi, I'm new to this community and I'm following you ... I think it's very interesting, I think this platform will always grow because every day there are more people interested and with much potential to improve their already great performance!

welcome onto the platform. If you spend some time developing content as well as reading and commenting well, you will be part of the growth too :)

I will be here with you @tarazkp. Steemit is definitely one among many platforms off the steem blockchain and many more structures are in the works to further maximize the potential of the blockchain.

Will I still be focused on steemit alone as my vehicle of expression on the blockchain? Possibly. After all, writing is all I know.

I am buildingy stake too. It is not much presently but I am proud of what I have achieved and what steemit has enabled in me. I will be keeping on.

I am building stake too. It is not much presently but I am proud of what I have achieved and what steemit has enabled in me. I will be keeping on.

There is value in working toward something better in the future, even if the path is difficult.

Yes... I think it is part of the pleasure for me. watching my stake gradually increase. The sense of growth is a beautiful thing to watch. I love knowing it was so and so post that made the difference; it was so and so comment that hit the mark, it was on this day we crossed this line. I love being able to jump for joy when I cross a certain point. The day I hit 500, I felt so much elation. It is awesome for me.

watching my stake gradually increase. The sense of growth is a beautiful thing to watch.

I totally feel that way too, I don't feel happy when I get upvoted only because I got money, I'm also happy because someone thought my post/comment worth their upvote!!

It is interesting considering people get the same feeling playing a game yet, here you are doing something you enjoy and building a future. Not only that, it will be for more than yourself.

Exactly. The excitement of winning and moving on to another level on a game is exactly what I feel but this is more than that. There is benefit beyond emotional satisfaction. There is my mother and father who marvel too that I can be without a job for 7 months yet I send even more money to them now than I did when I was supposedly working. It is my growth as a writer, the feeling of elation when people praise my efforts and ask me how I do it. @tarazkp, it is unreal

Ever since November I have been using busy as my condenser of choice and hats off to @fabien for a wonderful condenser he and his team has created.

I even made a review on why Busy is my condenser of choice for blogging in Steem.

I have also used Esteem, Dtube, Dlive and even Steemgigs as more and more condensers are being build to suit the users.

I am still hoping for a better condenser for parley.io though heheh but I know they'll do it.

I am highly invested with Steem and will continue to be here as long as I can.

Lately, I've started to feel like the Steemit interface is holding Steem back myself. The asshole programmer response to my frustration is, of course, to do something about it and build a better interface. Building your own interface, or even tweaking one, is quite a task indeed though. Wish I had a team.

Steemit does have some things that are easier to understand for crypto enthusiasts but I wouldn't say that it's better for bots. Rather, I think it's short-comings have allowed bots to thrive. If it was easier to find amazing content, then you would spend less time curating. If there were services that you could entrust your vote to, then the whales would often choose that rather than selling their vote or delegation.

Maybe the problems we have will lessen as more tools and interfaces come out. But right now, I can't help but blame Steemit for their slowness to improve their interface.

Building your own interface, or even tweaking one, is quite a task indeed though. Wish I had a team.

I think these will arrive, they already are: https://steemit.com/esteem/@good-karma/esteem-surfer-1-0-0-release-79775e065812d

If it was easier to find amazing content, then you would spend less time curating. If there were services that you could entrust your vote to, then the whales would often choose that rather than selling their vote or delegation.

Yes, it is much too difficult, especially if you are limited on time. Unfortunately, there is little to do about the bots, delegation so I think adaption is necessary in the short term. It sucks but, the people who are the most harmful are the ones who are growing the fastest and then what does this place become?

But right now, I can't help but blame Steemit for their slowness to improve their interface.

They could have done a lot more but now they are becoming irrelevant. Perhaps that was the goal for community growth and governance.

Good choice to use Steem rather than Steemit. Despite making errors myself from time to time, I do try to be very clear in my terminology usage. I try not to make a big deal out of it because I don't want to be known as an annoying pedant, but I am glad to see that effort in others as well.

When I talk about Steem, Steemit, Steemians, and surrounding topics:

  • Steem is our platform, our blockchain, and our community.
  • Steemit is the most widely recognised gateway to that platform.
  • STEEM is our blockchain-issued asset.
  • STEEM POWER or SP is an amount of VESTS expressed in relation to the current steem_per_mvests ratio.
  • SBD is our blockchain-issued debt instrument.

For example, I am posting this on @busy.org which has a few options that make posting a little easier although, I would love a night mode @fabien as my retinas are burning.

Seconded. The lack of a night mode is the only reason I am not using Busy.org except to post.

Long overdue.

Keeping it Steem original will allow it to publish any front end :) So better stick with that.

Some people may look at my wallet and feel jealous, others laugh at its insignificance, but for me, it's my investment in something I consider important, not just a way to pay bills on things I don't need. My experience in this life is that if you find something important enough to have, you work for it, that's what I'm doing. Inch by inch, Steem by Steem.

No doubt when you feel good in a place, you work to maintain it, despite having little time on the platform, I like its revolutionary and original goal, steemit became part of my day to day and spent much of my day here, although the platform in new compared to other networks, I think it came to stay and understand that, my vision in it changed, it is true that many times my feed is deserted, sometimes you feel that people isolate themselves (perhaps to their real lives) but there are always those who share a content leaving their great contribution, I join to work for steem in a good way, with what little or much I can contribute, for me is a pleasure to be part of it

I'm actually glad more people are finally realising steemit != steem. And as I said earlier on another comment, we may need to reconfigure our thinking about steemit as the "official" site if things are supposed to be decentralised.

It's been quite a while since I've used steemit, closest I've come is using mspsteem to post (to help them out), I do everything else on busy. Also had a stint on chainbb because their slider is awesome, if I didn't dislike the forum format so much I would have stayed there just for that.

goatsig

I only used chainbb a couple of times but I think it is gone now isn't it?

Apparently so! I haven't kept up with it since I stopped using it o_O

It still had the coolest slider of the ones I've used XD (which is not all of them)

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99