Improved curation return distribution (maybe)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Are people enjoying the higher curation returns still or has entitlement kicked in and it is expected already? The Steem pool still has more in it than it normally would so I think that accounts for some of it and of course the early voters have some part of their curation returned to the pool but I am pretty sure that the core reason is that 0 minute self-voters and early voters no longer have an advantage to add extra to the poster.

The curation return is always 25% on a post now meaning the poster gets 75%. The poster can of course can add to that through curating their own post but they have to do so under the same terms and conditions as other voters which means a level curation playing field with the only advantage being that the poster knows when they will post.

Previously, depending on size of votes and the like, a 0 minute self voter or one who benefited from early voters could take nearly all of a posts value leaving almost nothing for curators at all. Obviously now that there is no benefit in voting early for the poster, we can see how much of a difference it makes.

I see that some people are doing much better than normal at the moment. For example:


account: @markkujantunen source

This account got 9.521 Steem Power from curation in all of September on 970 votes cast but that included the HF20 weirdness. In August they cast 1063 votes and added 10.194 in curation. Already for October on 409 votes they are expecting 8.564 and it is not even half way through the month yet. This could mean that they will get somewhere in the vicinity of 17 SP on curation for the month meaning a 70% increase.

For all of those who were voting on the posts of authors who consistently voted early to lock out other voters, this is what it was probably costing you in curation returns. But now with the HF20 changes, this is a very large benefit and once the pool settles completely I would love to see what happens.

The reason I am interested is that the above account has 3000 SP but I have checked smaller accounts too and they all seem to be benefiting from the HF20 changes in curation. The shift of 1.2 SP that some people were worrying about doesn't seem to have affected much and all that I have checked are getting better curation. What this means is that those who benefited from voting early no longer do which means those posters are earning less.

I would be interested to see some statistics (@crokkon / @abh12345 / @miniature-tiger?) on the spread of curation value to various account sizes. I have a feeling that even though all are benefiting from a curation perspective, the smaller accounts are benefiting more as the larger accounts were benefiting so heavily from voting early. This should help somewhat with broadening curation distribution a little over time as previously most of the curation return went to the larger accounts who voted early as they could potentially take 90%+ of the entire post value.

For example, the account I used before (all things remaining equal) might see an extra 85-100 SP in curation return in a year. On a 3000 SP account, that is an additional ~1% total growth but the smaller accounts are likely to see a higher percentage than that. I would need some numbers to confirm this though.

The other thing that is likely having an affect on curation returns is comment curation. Previously, people (me at least) would often just vote the comment as they came which meant the entire amount would go to the comment and no curation would be earned. I was fine with this as curation (especially on comments) didn't matter to me and I would rather give it to people who left the comment. Now with some percentage of the curation going back to the pool instead of to the author of the comment/post, most people are waiting to vote on comments and of course posts. This means that more people are going to get higher percentages returned than they normally would on curation of comments.

This HardFork 20 rule change will likely result in the 25% of the pool that goes to curation be spread much, much wider than previously which is fantastic. It also means that accounts that were stacking bot votes on top of their self vote are now easier to frontrun for those who might be inclined to do so which reduces the profit from vote buying for some accounts. Once the numbers come in, I think that from at least a curation perspective, it is a good change that aids curation distribution.

The source of the image is taken from: https://steemit.accusta.tk and if you go there and search for yourself it offers some interesting views. Be warned though, it takes time to load and the more transactions you have had, the longer it takes. However, once it has done the search once on account it seems to be held in a cache, so updating only requires the new transactions that have been added since the last search.

I thought that since Saturday nights are generally a bit quiet, this might be something people could have some fun investigating on their own accounts and seeing if there is a difference pre- and post-hardfork . If you are keen to do so, add an image like I have above so we can see the difference over the months (It is under 'curator reward statistics').

Happy curating.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Here's my take for the increased rewards:

The resource credits scarecity means that people vote less often. So previously they were giving out what were really tiny dust votes (so you needed hundreds of these dust votes to get a few dollars). Now they can't vote as often, which means their voting power doesn't diminish as fast.

That in turn means that when they do vote the value of the vote is bigger than before. Maybe instead of 0.001 cent, it is 0.005 cents!

A few bigger votes means better rewards. In the old system people really were wasting a lot of votes in dust that never ever paid out.

That explains partly for small accounts but the one i quoted is larger and well aware of dust rates and is still up. They also are large enough that they vote as often as they choose.

Well, yes it's great. At the same time I have seen a lot of bots that I never saw before, trying to get as much of those curation rewards as possible.

Well it is one change am not complaining about

Curation rewards have doubled for me too. It's definitely a plus in my books, because it was something I was discussing before the hardfork. Authors need curators and as not everyone is particularly an author, if you can't keep curators here, then authors will lose out on what is basically a customer/consumer.

I have noticed my upvote value is slowly dropping back towards previous levels again, which is a bit disappointing, but not too unexpected as activity returns to normal and the bidbots return to full use. I'll just have to keep working on my SP.

Posted using Partiko Android

The vote value was up because the pool was full due to no one voting for those few days. It will drop a bit further still.

Once the balance is reached we could know more but it seems that still curators will be better off.

I noticed a huge increase too and I must admit, you grow used to it awfully fast. You know, in Ro, we have a joke about the farmer who went to the big city and did well and got rich and then came back to his poor hometown and would, every year, give out money to all the farmers and the poor. And then the one day, the rich man wasn't doing so well, you know, business going poorly and so. So, he stopped giving to the poor and the farmers so he could send his kids to college. And all through the small town, voices were heard *'The bastard, sending his kids to school on *our ** money.'
Reminds me of what's going on on Steem...

That is exactly right. It is best to check yourself often here. A lot of the older accounts got used to certain votes and attention and when things changed, they felt they had lost their entitlements. THe new norms set in very fast. The same happened with the SBD prices...

Precisely - what we've got here is pretty awesome, but like with anything, we risk getting used to it, expecting it all to go smoothly and on a silver platter and then we berate it for not doing so, forgetting the good thing we had in the first place...

Hey Taraz!
Yo I noticed a big increase in curation rewards. I got 3350 SP and I did 25 SP in the last 7 days.
Great numbers for me. My goal is 100 SP a months with curation. So, let's see if something changes.
Have a nice weekend
Steemitri The Mannequin

It will likely go down a bit as the pool is decreasing back to normal but hopefully there will be still a significant improvement overall.

Thanks for the info ;-) ... so I have to profit now.

Hopefully someone will take a look.

Fair point on comments, I'm waiting for 15+ these days. Got a feeling that autos at 15m on comment of folks blogs (like us) that do a reasonable job upvoting our commentators will be a good hunting ground.

can you auto comments on a blog like that?

Auto comment, auto vote, sure!

I noticed a huge increase in curation rewards. I doubled up. I was accustomed to seeing roughly 20 SP roll in within a seven day time period. Today, as of now, my previous seven days of curating have earned me a whopping 42.67 SP.

I've been curating manually for two years. I don't often shoot for the perfect timing approach unless it's right there in front of me like now as I write this I was able to plop the vote down at 15 minutes. I tend to vote "late" more often than not so doubling up on rewards is nothing I'll be complaining about any time soon.

I think that there is going to be a fair few people who will benefit regardless of if they aim for it or not and the 0 minute self voters have almost disappeared which included a lot of very big accounts. They are still voting of course but more of their supporters have a chance to frontrun a large vote. At least I see this as a good outcome in this respect of the HF.

I stopped the 0 minute self vote on my posts after experimenting with no self voting at all for a month. That was a long time ago. I began dropping the self vote at 30 minutes, but didn't tell anyone. I figured I'd just secretly give a boost to all those who support my work early. I still do this now, except at a different time.

I did the same except when the busy default kicked in after reloads. I would wait to around the 25-30 mark and let all the small voters run first.

shouldn't the creators who take trouble creating posts get more rewards, right? so they self-vote early. But i like your nice moves to encourage early voters (who don't think about this timeframe).

As for curation i do a mix of steemauto and manual, where i set the timeframe/vote weight depending on how much to support good projects and writers.

I guess the recent changes just balance it out more to encourage more engagement. ?

creators get 75% of the rewards guaranteed.

Hopefully it improves engagement on some level but it definitely seems to leave more into the pool for wider distribution.

Yah, I noticed this change too. I am getting more curation rewards from large accounts than I used to before because they are no more voting their post immediately they post and so this make me vote on it before them.😄

Exactly. It annoyed me before when people who were highly supported would still shut out others from curation without even waiting to the 15 minute point. This is a positive change for smaller accounts now.

Yah, some people can be very insensitive to supporting others, they just think about themselves alone. But the Hf 20 has force them to support others by force. I think sometimes force is needed to change some people's selfish behaviors.

Yep. I stopped supporting people who did it.

Yah, exactly. Stinginess can be very irritating.

Well, I'll have to get an account of the performance that is received by healing, however we can say that it is a win win, but I always believe that, it will win more, the one that has much more.

My grandfather said, "son, money calls money" and I reaffirm that, the one you have the most will always have more.

It is the way of things when it comes to values but the distribution is important to make sure that the gaps aren't getting too large. This is a small change overall but could help people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36