Sort:  

Hey. Thanks for trying my script.
The time is used to fetch the follower accounts. Maybe there is faster implementations but it worked fine for me.
There is one limit I found while experimented with it. There is a hard limit of 1000 in the method of tge steem python library to get the follower accounts. If you have more you'll have to load all followers in batches of 1000 to get them all.
J

thats the reason why it stopped after 1000 :D good to know, I made another script. I used beautifulsoup and scraped the follower/following list from steemdb.com and saved as a CSV file. But I need help to sort the csv list, remove duplicates etc. properly with python and the names are in a chronological order on the website,that makes problems, ah its complicated :D I consider to post my script in the next days

There's lots of ways to remove duplicates. U can write a script ;-)
Or use an editor that can do this. Or maybe excel can do this too.
J

actually I can then make this correction fast in libreOffice but I want for the end user to have everything already done by running once the script :D the problem is, if i save the follower list as an array, it could maybe break if the list is huge. any ideas? have an account on steem.chat?

Lol. What are you trying to do? If you put everything into a set/dict the duplicates may go away. There should not be memory problems unless you try to save millions of data sets. If you reach the limits you should have a look at streaming files and free temporary data sets. Using streaming for files uses buffers to limit the amount of data that is held into memory. You may want to free memory by explicitely freeing unused memory.
But I don't know how to do this in python. I'm sure there's lot's of info in the web. Python is well-used.
Jah, I made an account in steem.chat months ago but I don't use it.
J

Hi Mate, found your post a bit late.
Please have a look below at a piece of code that will solve the issue with the 1000 limit.

user = "jjb777"
#get your follower count 
followerCount = s.get_follow_count(user)['follower_count']

#retrieve all your followers names
followers = []
followerStart = 0
while followerCount > 0:
 temp = s.get_followers(user, followerStart, 'blog',  1000)
 if (followerCount > 1000):
  followerStart = temp[999]['follower']
  del temp[999]
 followers.extend(temp)
 followerCount -= 1000```

Thanks bro. Thats a good idea to process them all. J

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56