You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The unwritten rules of steemit!💡 #Bartcardi

in #steem6 years ago

Why are people trying to dictate how others should post and behave on steemit? If someone wants to write: "Beautiful pictures!" on a post, that's ok. Let people behave like they want, if you personally have a "set" word-count of what's a good comment, good for you, but that shouldn't dicate others.

Sort:  

I am just telling everyone the personal lessons i learned on the platform.

I understand, I didn't comment to insult you or your post, but what I mean is that, there's a general attitude among steemians that you "have" to write something interesting. I just want there to be room for more casual comments instead of people always trying to outsmart themselves and always "top" their latest comments.

The problem with generic comments such as "nice post" is that they are usually just spammers or bots trying to farm upvotes. If you really liked something tell me what you liked. It doesn't have to be something long and/or very "smart", just something that shows that you actually read or see the post/picture/video.

I agree, but honestly, if a bot comments one of my posts with "nice post", I really don't mind. I've seen people lash out to people commenting their posts: "Dirty spammer" etc.. Not cool in my opinion.

There is a difference between an empty "nice post" comment and a casual one. The problem that is those "nice post" comments sometimes crowd out the genuine ones and make the comment section less readable. They are the sort of behavior we want to discourage. It is commendable if someone takes up the task of cleaning up the platform and flags such comments if they appear to be the work of bots. If they are left by newbies, it is a good practice to give them a friendly warning and refer to the FAQ.

I personally don't lash out at spammers or downvote them because it's a waist of my time and voting power. For me it's more cost effective to ignore them, that way they don't get a benefit.

However, allowing serial spammers and trolls to flourish has a negative impact on the value of the network. In some cases (not all) it is necessary to take action by using a downvote while being civil.

Fair enough:)

@Bartcardi post your is very useful for the steemian.
Especially me as a beginner in steemit
Thank you @bartcardi

It's not like it changes anything, you won't get more reputation or SP/SBD/STEEM. I agree with @bartcardi in everything on this post. This is what I call great content.

I understand how you feel. Personally, I'm happy for the tips. Free advice is hard to come by nowadays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99