Steem 0.15.0 Released (Hardfork)

in #steem7 years ago

Hardfork is scheduled for 2016/11/08 16:00:00 UTC (11:00:00 EST)

This hardfork is entirely to fix bugs in preparation for the migration to shared memory implementation. The bugs that were fixed are not security sensitive and have no impact on existing users of Steem. We are simply adding some additional validation checks on account name length in authorities. After the switch to shared memory account names will be fixed length strings.

Documentation changes

  • Change structure and update content of documentation / README.md #487
  • Move list of seed nodes to its own file #487
  • Update list of seed nodes #505

Functionality changes

  • Add new API calls get_discussions_by_blog(), get_discussions_by_comments()
  • Add first_reblogged_by field to get_state reply
  • Record both SBD and STEEM post payouts in author_reward_operation
  • Add ability to mine to debug_node #519
  • Expose get_dev_key() function analogous to the get_dev_key binary in debug_node_api #519

Bugfixes

  • Fix bug resulting in multicore mining attempting to mine the same nonces on each core #525
  • Transactions downloaded from the network were not always verified when using checkpoints
  • Hardfork to forbid long account names in authorities #465
  • Hardfork to forbid using non-existing account names in authorities #465
  • Update mining stats display to provide correct information for pow2 mining #282
  • Fix bugs preventing creation of testnets #519
  • Convert machine-length integer in chain state to fixed-length integer #485

Architecture changes

  • Various changes to how Dockerfiles build and run the code
  • Remove some unused code #511
  • Remove unused ENABLE_CONTENT_PATCHING compile-time constant #510
  • Update newplugin.py for new internal API #506

https://github.com/steemit/steem/releases/tag/v0.15.0

Sort:  

We appreciate all your work. Steemit is growing despite temporary price issues. I, for one, am buying and powering up all I can!

Not too close, that EMF is hard on the eyes!

I suppose this is a result of the golos team...so kudos to the experiment.

Fix bug resulting in multicore mining attempting to mine the same nonces on each core #525

also #first :P

EDIT: our very own Election day fork. :smooth:

I'm a little excited for the upcoming updates... yeah I'm a geek, it's in my name.

Some good updates here..! This is my second official hardfork and I'm pretty excited to roll out new software on my witness. Thanks for the update Steemit.

I really don't understand any of it, but bug fixes and getting rid of redundancy and forbidding non-existent account names all sounds like you're working toward efficiency and closing loopholes. Sounds good to me!

Keep it up you guys! Great work so far, looking forward to continued developments!

Focusing in building in the key despite price fall. Price and value a different so I focus in steemit value, not the price. If people are using it, it has value.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Steem 0.15.0 Released (Hardfork). why not (SIP - Lost Password Recovery #240)?

about:
I cann't login to my steemit account. I've entered the correct password, but I still cann't connect.

My account ( @tonyson ) has been idle 115 days. Now I am Sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01