You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Fix Steemit For Communities & Viral Engagement

in #steem8 years ago

One approach to gaming this is that in an open data system, "following" need not be public knowledge. I currently "follow" exactly no one using Steemit folllows. But I'm also following a group of people and I'm notified of their actions. If the former has significance to rewards then I can more or less shift around rewards at will (including accepting payments for it), independent of my actual interests.

Some method of identifying connections between people that are based on necessarily-public data such as having directly interacted via commenting or voting is probably better.

Sort:  

Agreed. Another example is I'm following some people not because they share the same interests as me, but because my interest in Steem at this time is more to study the dynamics of the system so I am observing some obscure example users to study their patterns of using the system.

It is very difficult to automagically measure groups, because as @complexring pointed out about the Grassmannian, everything is relative to everything.

P.S. see my reply to your other comment. Unfortunately Steem has a feature bug in that it doesn't notify of replies when the comment nesting is too many levels deep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26