You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Promoting Steem

in #steem5 years ago

I've only ever powered up. I'm doing my thing organically. I've only ever had more than 50 steem to power up one time when I got a random vote from a mighty whale. Otherwise it's 10% growth and on the decline no matter what I do here. That's led to apathy and indifference which is difficult to overcome.

I keep hoping for some engagement or more followers but it's just not a reality as the social aspect of this place is not very sociable.

It's not that I'm not a well known account, the difference between me and a dolphin is since I haven't invested nobody cares to invest in me as there's no roi...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Large stakeholders are definitely more respected here as are developers and investors. There are also a few terrific content creators who get just as much respect. You should look into more communities for engagement, fringe tags are better to find friends in as opposed to basic ones like #steem or #life. You could also join discords, it often works as a more social extension to many communities. Time is also important, you don't make friends in just a few months. Keep at it!

Screenshot 2019-05-22 at 00.44.34.png

Discord I would say is essential. I’ve seen success for niche content creators that specifically create for a dedicated tag such as homesteading.

The friends I’ve made here are like me, not to be pigeon holed and not to be taken seriously at all times.

I appreciate your zeal and advice. For me someone that came here for entertainment first, edification second, and a willingness to be a control in an experiment third I’m only expressing that I’m not like any other steemians currently active.

If the economics are fixed and can support more typical social media users such as myself in the future my account will see a different kind of reward and attention than the usual cheerleading for steem stuff, no offense.

I can’t think of a single friend or family member that has the time or energy to devote to this platform. Out of a thousand fb followers perhaps 2 would last here, that’s an issue that internal pep talks won’t soon alleviate.

I would also add respect is earned not bought, but that’s not true here. I however don’t respect anyone just because they’re a big fish in a little pond.

You're so right with that last point. It does take a lot of effort here for the average person. Partiko makes it easier. Let's hope some front end evolves to be more like Facebook where simple posts are welcomed and the complexity of Steem is buried.

Absolutely, it will come or we are all just going to be forever passing around a coin to each other in a stake weighted ecosystem that doesn’t reward “good behavior”

Ahh dude!
Following.
You just gotta find your group/community.

When the price of steem goes up a dime.... You will see more engagement.
Times are slow when the price is down.

I appreciate the follow and I've definitely noticed fluctuations in the overall vibes of the place contingent on a price point.

The price has been well below a half USD since I signed up after the last HF at .80 USD it then plummeted and has yet to recover.

I get the find a community aspect as well but i am feeling positive the dynamics of how the ecosystem works is to blame. Look no further than discord being the place where all important conversations take place. That's a major problem for a "social media content discovery" blockchain.

Posts dying economically speaking after 7 days is also a waste, there should also be things built in such as reminders options such as (haven't replied to blank in blank days). Haven't upvoted blank in blank weeks, things that I'd think would be easy to develop. But, they aren't profitable. Basically, the etiquette here is focused on a what's in it for me mentality, this is not attractive to the millions or billions of social media users outside of this nuanced circle jerk.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89