Spread the word. Help write the perfect Steemit Elevator Pitch!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Steemit has grown spectacularly since its inception. We can all help it to continue this meteoric rise but we need to use the power of word-of-mouth. So when you next meet someone what will you say in 60 seconds that will convince them to check out Steem?
elevator-pitch-grumpy-cat4d96b.jpg

Lets collaborate to craft the perfect Elevator pitch...

I think it would be helpful if we could all work together to craft a killer pitch for Steemit. Something that is easy to remember, gets the key benefits across and can be delivered in 60 seconds or less.

So here is my attempt. Please feel free to add or modify it in the comments below :-)


I've just discovered the most amazing website!
You have to check out Steemit.com
It's this cool social media site that everyone's talking about.
Each time you write a post or comment on someone else's you actually get paid in a digital currency called Steem dollars which you can easily convert to US dollars.
Some people are making thousands from a single post...
From finance to photography there is heaps so it's my goto social media site now!
If takes seconds to setup an account and you can start earning Steem straight away.
So check out it. Steemit.com


Sort:  

Thanks for making this article, I hope more people see this so we can actually get a good imput from the Steem community about what to say. I'm about to do a few things but I'll post my "pitch" a little later. (I'll also post my responses to your pitch.)

I have been thinking about this same topic for almost all of my short time on Steem, and I just made a Story/Blog about my ideas. Let me know what you think. https://steemit.com/steem/@littenti/expanding-steem-first-saturday

Aight, here is my analysis of your pitch and a few things I would include in a pitch.

To be blunt and honest... I do not like the first three lines.... at all. I think it sounds too much like a spam comment that you'd see in the Youtube comment section. (Ever see those? They usually go like, "Hi everyone, let me show you how I made $10k online fast and easy!" (Just click this link to my Trojan filled site!))

Because of that, people will disregard this completely. I think that you need more of a catch, but something that sounds less focused on the BIG earnings you can make on here. (Kinda like you did in the 4th line) (If you tell people the truth, that people can make thousands of dollars on a single post, than some will be interested... but most will immediately think "Scam")

I would shoot for something a little more like that 4th line:

"Hey, check this. I joined a website recently called Steem.com It's pretty neat, you can and will earn money just for interacting with people. However, the best way to make money is to be a content creator. Just like being a YouTuber."

I think the strongest thing about my catch was comparing it to YouTube. People already believe that YouTube is a career or a good way to share your content with others and earn a quick buck. Because I am comparing it to another successful way to earn money (not easy money) on the Internet, they're more likely to give it a shot and not think that it's an "Easy Cash" scam.

I like the part of your pitch where you included "Finance to Photography." I think the future of this site is going towards being (sorta) split into many communities of specific topics. (With people being part of many communities of course) Showing that this site isn't focused on just one thing and accepts many different interests far and wide is a great way to make people feel more comfortable.

Great comments and I'm going to upvote you! I really like the more subtle approach that you suggest. So here is what our pitch looks like now.

Hey, check this. I joined a website recently called Steem.com It's pretty neat, you can and will earn money just for interacting with people. However, the best way to make money is to be a content creator. Just like being a YouTuber.
Each time you write a post or comment on someone else's you actually get paid in a digital currency called Steem dollars which you can easily convert to US dollars.
From finance to photography there is heaps so it's my goto social media site now!


....we now need some more people to contribute to this to get the perfect pitch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15