Expanding Steem! (First Saturday?)

in #steem8 years ago

Hello fellow Steemers!

I may have heard about Steem only 2 days ago... and I may have started Steem one day ago, but there is one objective/thing (or whatever you want to call it) that has stuck out to me. Steem is small and growing very fast, however, I'm not sure if key words from our blogs showing up on random Google searches are enough.

So, I thought to myself while driving work, what can we as a community do to grow Steem? AND, not just a 1 time add 5 thousand members kind of thing... but something we can continuously do to help Steem grow.

My answer: First Saturday

What is that?

Well, I got the name from something done by the Ingress community. (Search Ingress/ It's the original "Geeks and Nerds in public" game created by Niantic... and much better than Pokémon Go.) The local community in the game gathers together on the first Saturday of every month for a competitive event. They send the info out for the event on Google Plus, invite people via Chat In-Game and a Google+ community, and simply work together as a group of people to create an event where they can play a game and look weird in public together.


(Pictured above is an Ingress Anomaly event)

What did I get from this? Well, the name for starters, "First Saturday." However, I also figured that the community is responsible for most of the growth of the community. (Well, now Pokémon Go is, but that is irrelevant) The community in Ingress is great, and they invite people to play and to play together.

My idea for Steem is for us to start a community-wide event called "First Saturday," where each one of us (successfully) invites a friend or colleague to join Steem and makes a small blog post about it. We tell the community who our friend is, maybe share a picture or story, and simply show others that we are participating. (And of course, we do this on the First Saturday of every month.)

If we inspire other Steemers to grow the community, and work hard to do so ourselves, than Steem will grow rapidly and successfully. I may just be a naïve 18 year old student, or I may be speaking from the experience of growing up on gaming and social media communities, and that experience may be worth something.

Let me know what you think.

-Ryan

Sort:  

Great initiative. Maybe you could call it "Friend Introductions" or "Here's my friend" rather than "First Saturday" so it can be done on any day. ...just an idea...

Thanks for the comment. I agree that "First Saturday" is a pretty cheesy name, however I think that having it on a specific day would do more good than having it everyday.

If a band had all their concerts in one place, just doing it every other day, the turnout would be much less than if they traveled. People would get bored of going to the concert and hearing the same stuff. This is why they travel, for new audiences.

This relates to my idea because: if we said this was an everyday thing, it wouldn't hit the ground running very well, and people would easily get bored of it. However, if it was an event that only happened so often, it would last longer and be exciting because "It doesn't come around that often."

P.S. I'm also trying to figure out how to get this information to a community leader of some sorts, so that, if this event could have it's chance, it would.

Try contacting https://steemit.com/@steemdrive
I heard him talking on Beyond Bitcoin over the weekend. I'm sure he could help

I'll do that, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64