You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Use Upvote Services Please Read These Two Posts

in #steem7 years ago

I'm not sure what determines whether or not someone earns anything or not. To be honest my blog is not the greatest. I'm not an expert on anything. But I'm a fairly funny guy with some good viewpoints on stuff. And I get good feedback and I get a lot of comments etc.

I also have a pretty large account with 5700SP, which is probably more than 99% of accounts (I think mine is ranked 1500 largest in terms of value) I also have quite a lot of followers. I post regularly and my content, even though not THE best - it's mediocre + perhaps.

Now, I'm not earning ANYTHING without using upvoting bots. Perhaps, if I'm lucky I'll get 5-10 upvotes from my Steemit-friends. I have over 2000 followers, and I get around 10 upvotes. That's 0,5%. My content will just be lost the second I post it. Unless I use bots of course..which will at least give me a SMALL shot at being seen in the trending/hot section. (Usually not trending, but often Hot)

I view the upvoting bots as paid advertising. I'm paying them to get a small shot at making some extra bucks. Sometimes I go into minus using bots, often times I make a small profit..and sometimes, if I'm lucky, some whale sees my posts and upvotes it with $5.

For those of us who doesn't have ANY big whale-friends constantly upvoting our material, it's impossible to make anything. I'm spending hours a day doing this, and the only way it's worth wile is to use bots. If I couldn't I would have to do something else, power down and leave Steemit. Because there wouldn't really be an incentive for me to be here. I could go back to Facebook or Twitter. Sure, I could log in and comment and discuss with the awesome people I've met here..but there wouldn't really be any incentive for me to keep $25,000 dollars in here.

I know that a lot of people are making money. I see you earn 14$ on this post. No offence, but I have to say I have made posts better than this one. I'm sure you can agree on that. Not saying you don't make better posts than me on average. I'm sure you do..and you do actually have good posts. But you earn 50-60$ on posts and I see you have some whales upvoting you. I don't even earn $3 :)

I'm not going to scream unfair. Like I said, I'm sure you've earned it. But from my perspective, even if my content suck..I still have to what I can to make some bucks here.

Let's say I'm pushing my capacity intellectually. I don't have much more to give. What should I do? If I stop using bots I will earn 2$ per post. 1,45$ of that would be from myself. Living in a high cost country, that's just not possible. Then I'd have to power down, get a job and leave Steemit.

But as long as there are possibilites to make more money here I will take advantage of those.

So there are only these possible outcomes:

  1. I continue to use bots and at least make some money
  2. I power down (because staking 25,000$ and not making anything from it is not worth it. I'd rather buy some other cryptos with that money than earning pennies auto-curating people)

My ears are VERY open to suggestions!

Sort:  
Loading...

First, I gave this a bigger than usual upvote not because I agree (obviously!) but more because I would like people to see the different opinion and because this comment is actually a post by itself XD

I will respond to this in a while when I have time :)

Hehe. Thanks man

As my post was used to generate this conversation I will offer you a small example of an issue I see that may help you get more votes and followers.
Screenshot-2018-2-22 SteemWorld (beta)(2).pngScreenshot-2018-2-22 SteemWorld (beta)(3).png

That is the list of the top 10 users you support and the top ten users who support you. It may be a perfect time to stop all of your auto-votes as it appears those you auto-vote are not even voting for you.

That is where I would start. I am also in steemit.chat if you ever want to talk ideas.

Where can I see that list? @erodedthoughts

steemworld.org/@scandinavianlife

Then a few inches down on the right there are two buttons for incoming and outgoing votes.

Well, for starts, trump has said it all.. engagement and community is key on here. I've been following his advis on some areas and believe me its been worth it. i've had more engagement in community so much that i'm sure of over $9 on every post i make. it isn't rocket science. i grew the platform by spending just a bit more time focusing on growing my audience and supporting local steemit communities. checkout @stach to see what we do.

Engage, it works, everytime.

PS: on whale friends, i might have made a few, but i'd rather not bother anyone for votes. we could be friends and i might point them your way sometime. i'll be reading, sir.
@pangoli

I think you should give it a try without, your content is better than mediocre.

I can only agree @scandinavianlife and added my take in the comments below. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51