You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BULLYING ON STEEM , PLEASE READ , IMPORTANT

in #steem7 years ago

@carlgnash - Hi, Carl! It's me again. You found me wandering like a waif on @militarymemes and encouraged me to "introduce myself." Still haven't quite gotten around to that because exploring the Steemit forest is an indescribable through-the-looking-glass-and-down-the-rabbit-hole experience. There's a wonderful scene in the original Disney animated film as Alice begins her tumble and conveniently falls into a chair that is floating down the rabbit hole just below her. This allows her to sit back and enjoy her journey to the center of the earth. As I recall it, as soon as she feels a bit thirsty, she passes a pitcher of water and a glass on a table, reaches out and doesn't miss.

Well, just as I begin to ponder the problem of bot voting, I suddenly find myself in your part of the forest again. Voila! And when I open the door to peek inside this tree trunk, what do I see but The Mad Hatter (michelle.gent) and The March Hare (toneyboney) throwing china tea cups at each other. Weren't we just having that conversation when I was the naïve waif replying to your comment @militarymemes? Wasn't I so pleased to have left all of that behind at The YouTube Troll Center? But now, even here in the utopia of free-Steem-speech, it looks as if all the cups and saucers might be smashed before we can drink our tea.

Here's an interesting insight into the power of actual reputation over a Steem profile reputation. As michelle.gent and toneyboney continued their quarrel, I noticed that your response (at reputation 55) was more influential (with me) than that of michelle.gent (at reputation 73). Why? Well, partly because I did not know the two contenders but had already had a very positive encounter with you. Therefore your support for toneyboney won my support as well. Isn't that an interesting lesson in human behavior?

While I was living in Luddite-land (on the planet Lud, which I think may be my introduction eventually),
I dismissed social media platforms as inauthentic because human interaction requires eye contact, body language, the full engagement of the senses in full response to the presence, feelings, and behavior of another human being. Or so I thought. But the ferocious contention between michelle.gent and toneyboney is proving me wrong. In the absence of a physical presence, the heart, mind, and spirit are more clearly visible. And this is true regardless of proficiency in language, grammar, or writing skills.

There is a new user group for minnows that I have not yet decided to join because in reading the description of purpose, I sense in the "heart, mind, and spirit" of the group, an "energy" of the same authoritarian censorship and control that lies at the core of the conflict between michelle.gent and toneyboney. Which seems to suggest that the circular debate between free speech and censorship occurs at every "social level" and is in no way a class issue.

Yes, Carl, this self-guided tour through Steem-ville is very interesting, very interesting indeed. And now that I have written this "purely original content," please do with it as you see fit. I trust you. In fact, if you think this conversation may interest the "human" Steemit community, feel free to change names to protect the (innocent/guilty) and add artwork. Since you were my first Steemian friend, I consider you a mentor. Much love.

Sort:  

You are keeping me busy today! I love it! Fully agree that human interaction is completely possible in the absence of actual physical contact. I believe we have had several such interactions ourselves! I would love to hear more about Planet Lud, I have a lot of respect for Luddites although I am a hopeless tech head myself. RE this particular internet squabble, I want to mention that I don't necessarily condone some of @toneyboney's responses to @michelle.gent, but more importantly to me, I felt that they arose out of a reaction to an unjustified flagging and I can certainly understand this generating some anger. I personally try to never do anything in anger, preferring to wait until I cool down and re-evaluate, and at that point taking any necessary action in a spirit of calmness... but I don't hold other people to this code of conduct and realize that anger and angry reactions are a normal human thing.

RE this particular flag, I agree with the general principle of flagging posts/comments that are nothing but a beg for upvotes/follows/resteems without adding content... but I disagree that this applied to @toneyboney's post. He has a funny way with words and I found the flagged post amusing and to me it qualified as original content. I ran into Toney when he left a relevant and original reply to a song I posted, and I was curious why he had such a low rep when he was obviously capable of genuine human interaction.

RE a new user group for Minnows - I do not know which particular group you are referring to, but I would personally highly recommend the Minnow Support Project (MSP) and the associated PAL (Peace Abundance and Liberty) chat on Discord chat. If you are curious, @juliakponsford's illustrated step-by-step tutorial on joining MSP is great, although you really only have to follow the tutorial up to the point of registering your account with the MSP bots (the following Steemvoter steps are not necessary) and Julia is a peach as well (really terrific supporter and curator of the arts here on Steemit, check out her curation posts and contest posts if you have not already).

If you join MSP you gain access to an upvote service that you can use twice a day (once every 12 hours maximum) - you can use this to upvote other people's posts or your own, you use the upvote service by visiting the #upvote channel in PAL Discord chat (the invite to join the chat is one of the first steps of the tutorial) and (ONLY IN THE #UPVOTE CHANNEL) typing the command

$upvote POSTURL

Where "POSTURL" is the full URL of the post you are trying to upvote.

There is no hidden agenda in MSP - no requirements made of members, absolutely no wiff of censorship. As someone who is enjoying browsing around on Steemit but has very little Steem power yourself, joining this community would give you the ability to give a nice little upvote bump to deserving posts you encounter.

Cheers - Carl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36