How do i build up my reputation on steemit

in #steem7 years ago

I was wondering how can you build up your reputation? Is there something i can do to speed up the process, or is it just one of those things where you have to wait. Im not super low but I don't have much voting power yet I don't know if reputation and voting power go hand-in-hand or not. Any advice would be welcomed.

Sort:  

Your rep goes up as people vote for your posts or comments. The voting power is tied to your Steem Power. You start out with a tiny bit of steem power delegated to you, worth about a penny. The only way for your vote to count more is to get more steem power. Either from rewards on your post and comments, or you can buy it. I leased some from blocktades. That's why you'll notice my vote is worth alot more now and it wasn't before. I paid for the privilege to have more voting power.


It took me a few weeks of non stop reading on here to figure out how even half of it works. There needs to be a more visible place for all the newbie info. Start digging around for articles others have written on how this all works, dive in and ask questions if the post is less than 7 days old, you'll get good interaction that way. 😀

And so are you saying if I spend the money and buy steem that would also help increase my reputation.

I think rep only goes up when people are voting for you. Just having sp delegated to me didn't increase my rep at all. Just keep participating and learning and it'll come. 😁

This is a great question, thanks for asking! I haven't been here much longer than you, but I've managed to build up my reputation reasonably well. To do that, I've done a couple of things:

  1. I spent lots of time creating good content. Not just on my own blog, but by answering questions like this one, reading and responding to other people's blogs, and posting good responses. If you're only posting "good post" or something similar, don't be surprised if you don't get good engagement or even flagged.

  2. I powered up my posts for a while, and converted all of my SBD/Steem into SP. I'm not in this for the money, and even if I was it would take a long time to get something worth cashing out. Change your rewards from the Default 50%/50% to Power Up 100% and watch your reputation soar.

As to the connection between reputation and voting power, there definitely is one! The higher your reputation, the more your vote is worth. I've heard that once you get more vote value, you can even get a slider that will let you provide a partially weighted vote instead of a vote that's always weighted at 100%!

Good luck, and hopefully you find a good groove here and enjoy the community!

Congratulations. Excelent answer.

Sometimes I think that my effort is not well rewarded and discouraged, but it is a matter of persevering and moving forward. Beyond the reputation and the money is the learning that means to interact on this platform, which for me is luxury. I think it's great ...

Thank you for the insightful post, I will definitely keep in mind the need to power up

Question for you @mwoodall

If I only post once or twice a week due to f/t work and another side gig, should I still be upvoting at least 5 other people posts each day?
Still trying to figure the etiquette/guidelines, etc.. about that.

I wouldn't worry so much about upvoting when you're a minnow, though it's a good way to support someone without leaving a message (especially when you may not have the time to leave a lengthy message). Post as much or as little as you are able to, and spend more time worrying about the quality of your posts instead of the quantity. I've had posts that have rewarded me handsomely that were the only thing I've posted in a week. I've had other posts that haven't earned a dime in a week where I posted regularly.

You'll figure it out as you go along. As long as you're thoughtful and considerate and make an effort to engage with other people, you'll find a good groove here. Oh...and always answer the comments on your posts!

Appreciate that very thorough set of tips. Engaging with others is something I'll spend more time.

wow that's actually very enlightening thank you so much for taking the time to explain this to me.

No problem! I had lots of help and lots of people answer questions for me when I started...we're a community here, and when one person succeeds, we all succeed!

This is really a great tips for the beginners like me :) Thanks and more blessings :)

I'm glad I could help!

merci pour les informations très important

C'est mon plaisir!

Hi ryan,

I see a lot of people daying things and some are right some are not.

Your voting power is related to your Steem Power. The more Steem power you have, the more your vote is worth. Once you get above about 500SP you get a slider to adjust your vote, 1% to 100%.

Your reputation is affected like this, When someone upvotes you, you go up, if someone with higher reputation flags you you go down in rep. Also, reputation is an indicator of how much money you have earn through posts and comments. As you go up in rep it gets harder to go up. E.g going from 25 to 35 is easier than going 35 to 45. The highest rep out there currently is about 76. lowest is -19.

Build up your reputation by comment on other people's posts and creating a relationship with others around you...

Hope this helps. Good question. Keep working at it, you'll get there.

okay thank you I really appreciate your input I will try to work on these points and try to build up my reputation.

I think the best way is to give constructive comments on post you like on Steemit, if your Replies get upvoted you gain reputation.

Sweet i can do that thank you.

Thanks for all of the great answers guys! Im a newbie Steemian, and this is helpful:)

Reputation gets higher when you get upvoted by people, the amount it rises depends on their Steem Power, so be smart with who you follow.

And who you unfollow :)

Is not about waiting, you need to be active by putting good content, to your target audience, by stabling a focus and sticking it.

Okay thank you for your input this is some great advice to help not just me but whoever reads this post.

I noticed if you make a post and pose the question the people are very friendly and eager to help answer it for you for your participation and advice.

Hi, I like you, are new on this platform.
Certainly common sense will help you a lot, in the sense that you never copy and paste an article or photos taken from someone else ... It all starts with you, your brain, your creativity.
Write beautiful postings, which you taste in telling others. Be yourself because originality is a key to success.
And above all, interact with other users.
Help each other how to vote post and comment on them and a great way to start. If you like, I will comment and vote for you if you do the same with me.
Help me help you ... One hand washes the other and two hands wash the face ...
I hope to be proved helpful.

thank you I'd be more than happy to come over and up vote your post and leave comments.

Thanks guys for your suggestions and comments. I ve been feeling the same way too. For me I post on various subjects as politics entertainment and cryptocurency . But all I get is a cent vote from a robot which I appreciate. I desire to work more and soar more .am quit new though and ready to learn

all you have to do is ask a question and the family of steamers are here to help you out. I want to thank everybody for their advice and I'll try to put it to good use

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53