You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do i build up my reputation on steemit

in #steem7 years ago

This is a great question, thanks for asking! I haven't been here much longer than you, but I've managed to build up my reputation reasonably well. To do that, I've done a couple of things:

  1. I spent lots of time creating good content. Not just on my own blog, but by answering questions like this one, reading and responding to other people's blogs, and posting good responses. If you're only posting "good post" or something similar, don't be surprised if you don't get good engagement or even flagged.

  2. I powered up my posts for a while, and converted all of my SBD/Steem into SP. I'm not in this for the money, and even if I was it would take a long time to get something worth cashing out. Change your rewards from the Default 50%/50% to Power Up 100% and watch your reputation soar.

As to the connection between reputation and voting power, there definitely is one! The higher your reputation, the more your vote is worth. I've heard that once you get more vote value, you can even get a slider that will let you provide a partially weighted vote instead of a vote that's always weighted at 100%!

Good luck, and hopefully you find a good groove here and enjoy the community!

Sort:  

Congratulations. Excelent answer.

Sometimes I think that my effort is not well rewarded and discouraged, but it is a matter of persevering and moving forward. Beyond the reputation and the money is the learning that means to interact on this platform, which for me is luxury. I think it's great ...

Thank you for the insightful post, I will definitely keep in mind the need to power up

Question for you @mwoodall

If I only post once or twice a week due to f/t work and another side gig, should I still be upvoting at least 5 other people posts each day?
Still trying to figure the etiquette/guidelines, etc.. about that.

I wouldn't worry so much about upvoting when you're a minnow, though it's a good way to support someone without leaving a message (especially when you may not have the time to leave a lengthy message). Post as much or as little as you are able to, and spend more time worrying about the quality of your posts instead of the quantity. I've had posts that have rewarded me handsomely that were the only thing I've posted in a week. I've had other posts that haven't earned a dime in a week where I posted regularly.

You'll figure it out as you go along. As long as you're thoughtful and considerate and make an effort to engage with other people, you'll find a good groove here. Oh...and always answer the comments on your posts!

Appreciate that very thorough set of tips. Engaging with others is something I'll spend more time.

wow that's actually very enlightening thank you so much for taking the time to explain this to me.

No problem! I had lots of help and lots of people answer questions for me when I started...we're a community here, and when one person succeeds, we all succeed!

This is really a great tips for the beginners like me :) Thanks and more blessings :)

I'm glad I could help!

merci pour les informations très important

C'est mon plaisir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54