You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem trading volume on life support.. Bithumb isnt helping

in #steem6 years ago

I'm using Steemit for fun and not for money.
I think there is a problem with Steemit. The system is very capitalistic. If you have money, you can make money. If you are poor, you have great posts, you will not make money.
That's a problem when you want to market this Dapp. Because people are now searching for equal opportunities in Dapps. and not another place where whales who make money are the 1% holders

Sort:  

I tend to agree with you. I think we all realize that the problem with politics (and therefor government) today is that it is all about money. We probably can also agree that getting money out of politics would be a very good thing for most of us. Unfortunately, Steem is all about money and not so much about quality content. If you have a lot of Steem, or can buy it, you can rule here. If you don't, you are largely SOL. The Gini coefficient of Steem is near 1, which I don't think bodes well for the future. That said, these issues should not affect Steem as a cryptocurrency. Who cares how Steem is generated or distributed with respect to the Steem currency? Bitcoin is generated very inefficiently through mining--an activity that really doesn't provide any other benefit. Yet it is still the dominant crypto. But like you I believe Steem needs to change more to proof of brain, rather than proof of stake. If it doesn't, I suspect something will come along that supplants it.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

I agree with you ! I really like the term Proof of Brain !
Things in crypto are escalating quickly, and we will see more projects with different approaches. Some will fail, some will manage to be the internet of tomorrow. It's very confusing for investors where to put money because of this kind of diversity. But still whatever is happening on blockchains is better than what's happening on Web2 content!

I wouldnt say that you cant make money only if you have money here. Its true that the distribution is skewed atm but there are opportunities for regular people as well. Ive known many succeed solely based on their hard work here.
Problem is that like in life there are not many that can stand out easily.
I know for one i dont have any particular skill that makes me stand out which is why it seems my only way to earn money here is those 10% ROI that bots give me.
Im basically making 2-3Steem by buying 30STEEM worth of upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86