[SOLVED] The Fuck Is Happening With Our Post Payouts? Posts Losing up to 25% Value At The Time Of Payout!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Recently I noticed the strange trend of my and other users post losing a significant amount of $ value at the time of payout. I was totally perplexed by the fact because I could not explain it, nor could I find a reasonable explanation to why this was happening. For this reason, I'm writing this up in hopes that someone reading this might be able to shed some light on this strange occurrence.

BEFORE PAYOUT

runi.JPG

AFTER PAYOUT

That's a 25% unexplained decrease in payout!

What's even more strange about this is that some users lose more while others lose less and I can't figure out why that is. I thought it might be because I used busy.org to publish my post but I found out that busy doesn't take beneficiary rewards. Or at least that's what the post claims. Maybe they recently changed it, I can't say for sure.

BEFORE PAYOUT

acid.JPG

AFTER PAYOUT

In this example, 14% misteriously vanished.

BEFORE PAYOUT

chb.JPG

AFTER PAYOUT


Here, we see that "only" 8% was lost due to an unknown leecher.

BEFORE PAYOUT

block.JPG

AFTER PAYOUT


Lastly, @blocktrades lost only 3% here.

NOTE HOW: All of the post paid out at around the same time but lost different amounts.

THESE AMOUNTS AREN'T INSIGNIFICANT!

Myself, users who read this article and everyone who caught up to this, would like to know WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK IS GOING ON WITH OUR PAYOTUS? I'm well aware of the fact that post value fluctuates depending on the price of STEEM which influences our upvotes, but before the that was value lost/gained changed throughout the week, not at the time of payout. Nowadays, post value is static throughout the week (if no further upvotes or downvotes come along) and then it suddenly drops right at the time of payout.

Does this have to do something with the SBD burning craze, or has there just been a change in how/when the final upvote values are calculated?

Why do some lose more than others?

Additionally, I would like to kindly ask everyone who is interested in seeing the mystery of vanishing payouts resolved, to re-steem this article and post a comment in which you tag people you think might be able to resolve it.

BONUS QUESTIONS: Why is a portion of our payouts burned? Why does the % burned fluctuate and what does it depend upon?

Some users I think should be able to give us an answer are: @timcliff, @quochuy, @therealwolf, @gtg, @guiltyparties, @ura-soul, @aggroed, @blocktrades, @good-karma, @lukestokes.mhth, @followbtcnews, @someguy123, @yabapmatt, @themarkymark, @thecryptodrive, @riverhead, @smooth, @pfunk, @pharesim

Thank you in advance!

Sort:  

I noticed this too, and I wanted to post about it. But I think the 25% is lost after we get our full reward, so I don't think it affects our payouts. It could be a ddos attack.

It's lost as soon as the post pays out and we never get the full amount displayed before the payout.

The pre 15min burn of curation rewards was a HF 20 feature that avoided the issue of the author getting all the rewards before 15 minutes. Great to see the witnesses quickly answering!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the response @newageinv!

For some reason I thought it was returned to the reward pool.

Yes, I was quite surprised to see how fast they came to answer my questions.

Whaaat? :O Would love to see some answers from those guys? Maybe @acidyo can help?

I think that burned part is anybody who votes under 15minutes is having a portion of their vote burned. Don't take my word for it but I think it's how it works

Yep, I was as shocked as you when I first found out about this, if not more.

Could be, I completely forgot about that but I thought that it was returned to the reward pool, not burned.

I think this has happened because steem has plummeted from 40 cents to 29 cents. Same strange thing happening to all due posts as I have observed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Could be, but as mentioned in the post, before the value was lost throughout the week, nowadays it's at the time of payout, which is strange to say the least.

I might be wrong but it could be due to the new payout system with the new upvote time window. In the past the time window was of 30 minutes, if you upvote a post from 30 mins onwards, you get 100% curation rewards, if you upvote at 15% you get 50% and the author gets the other 50% etc... linearly until 0% where author gets 100% of curation rewards.

Now the time window is of 15 mins but what would go back to the author when the curators upvote before the 15 mins goes back to the reward pool instead. So technically, the payout is author reward + curation reward - what went back to the pool.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the response @quochuy! Will be interesting to see what others have to say and to get to the bottom of this.

What do you think about the burned amount?

i came back to steemit after 7 months my account lost nearly 10x worth. dont know what exactly happening . wont my steem boom again :(. just now checked it might be all due to new payout system.

It's due to the fact that STEEM lost a lot of its value since you were last here.

Don't worry about it, HODL and it will rise again. Possibly starting at the end of 2019, I'm expecting the whole crypto market to start increasing in value, STEEM included.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @runicar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.159 which ranks you at #903 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 902).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87