You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Design Failure of Steem, Pointed Out by the Architect and Creator of the Steem Blockchain, Dan Larimer

in #steem6 years ago

Humanity's potential for greatness seems to be hindered by it's baseness. Selfish short term agendas. The inability to put off immediate gratification for long term benefits of first the whole, then the individual, are nearly impossible to implement.
I may be wrong but I think Dan recognized this flaw in SteemIt and is planning to make evolutionary improvement on the EOS platform.
Some say competition is one solution for changing behavior on SteemIt, but if the reward pool continues to produce funds for the plutarchs to reap, even if the price falls, will they change? Or will they redouble their efforts to gather more?
I applaud your "call to arms" here.
My question is what change can I help initiate?
I don't write the code which is law. At this point it appears my only power is presence. And that is insufficient.
Competition would give me an alternative. Probably to my benefit.
As far as code change I suggest:
Not only implementing communities, but dividing up the reward pool to those communities. Individual communities would then have the ability to reward content according to their standards.
Ironically, this is antithesis to decentralization.
Human rules: we can't live with them, we can't live without them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47