Tech Aide: Investing in the Steem Blockchain on Binance and Bittrex

in #steem5 years ago

Watching 2018 ending with the crypto asset class still reeling from the SEC ruling the middle of November, I had a decision to make.

Was this a problem? Or an opportunity?

Image Source

Still believing the long-term prospects for this asset class are very promising, I choose to view it as an opportunity.

So ... I have not posted on Steem in 23 days (20 hours, 23 minutes ... 😉) What have I been doing?

Did I give up on the Steem blockchain?

Hardly. I have spent the time I had available in enhancing the investments I have in this asset class. Which are much broader than just STEEM ...

This post is about some of what I have learned, though, with respect to investing in STEEM itself. A look at my wallet will show those interested I have not been idle.

Before getting into some details of utilizing other exchanges, I will start with the "background story."

Comparison: Buying STEEM through Binance vs. BlockTrades



The "background story" would be the story of BlockTrades. Any of my fellow Steemians who have been "in here" a while are likely familiar with investing through BlockTrades, since it is so closely linked to our Steemit wallets. They clearly have a close association with the Steem blockchain. For reasons not clear to me, i.e. I don't know the history ...

If any of us want to increase our stake in Steem, then the "easy button" solution is to buy through BlockTrades. Why would we do anything else?

Well ... I have never been one to settle for the "easy out," if I can rationally make a case for a different route, leading to a better outcome.

While I have gone through this exercise before, I never took the time to document it, so ... For this post, here are some details of purchases of STEEM I just completed yesterday:

BlockTrades Transaction @ 13:12:15

Binance Transaction @ 13:12:22

Posting Transactions in SteemWorld

From these transactions, we can do some quick math to see what, if any, difference there might be in using the services of these two exchanges:


As yesterday's data illustrates, for various amounts of STEEM and using an average price today of ~ $3,800 / BTC, then there is some savings in using Binance.

While there are other options, e.g. Bittrex, this example illustrates one of the reasons I go with Binance - cost effectiveness. I do not have a lot of data stored, but again I have gone through this calc quickly in the past and it has always been the case, i.e. yesterday, at these low market prices, is not an anomaly.

Image Source

We are all free to make decisions in whatever we deem to be in our best interest. I will continue to invest in the Steem blockchain via external exchanges, for these reasons:

  1. I want as much experience with different blockchains, exchanges, wallets, etc. as I can reasonably manage. The more experience I have, the better informed decisions I can make in the future.

  2. We all should want STEEM to be available in as many markets as possible. All of them are tracking their profitability in making various cryptos available, so the more transactions linked to the Steem blockchain, the more incentive they have to list its tokens.
    I'm doing my small part!

  3. As shown above, while modestly so, it is less expensive.

Note lower cost is the last reason for my decision, not the first.

With that down, in the rest of this post, dear reader, I would like to provide you with some details which may be helpful for those who may also wish to look into buying and selling on other exchanges.

Why?

There are some peculiarities in transferring STEEM which were new to me, compared to any other crypto I own. I can't imagine I am the only one, in which this is the case. So, I hope this will be helpful to some of my dear readers.

STEEM from Binance to Steem Wallet


My personal preference for centralized exchanges is Binance. They provide very good service at better prices than those here in America. And ... It is not in America ... 😉

I am not writing to give an exhaustive review of Binance. Or any other exchange.
In this post, I simply want to illustrate the steps you need to take to get STEEM to and from Binance.

Image: Setting Up Withdrawal Transaction in Binance

Here you see illustrated what you have to put into a withdrawal transaction in Binance, to get your STEEM transferred:

  1. Begin a STEEM withdrawal transaction on Binance.

  2. In the STEEM Withdrawal Address you put your Steem account name.

  3. In the STEEM Withdrawal MEMO you put your Public Memo Key!

  4. Fill in the amount and Submit, following the normal remaining steps.

  • Note: If unsure about #3, details on keys are covered in my "Flying Start" post.

The transaction fee is a miniscule 0.01 STEEM. And the transactions are completed quickly! Mine were completed in ~ 1 minute.

STEEM from Steem Wallet to Binance



OK, great @roleerob. How about the other way around? I want out of the Steem blockchain!

Here are the steps to go the other way.

Image: Binance Notice

As illustrated above:

  1. Begin a STEEM deposit transaction on Binance.

  2. Check the box signifying you understand what is clearly stated.

  3. Click the "Continue Deposit" button.

Image: Illustrating Binance Generation of Deposit Memo and Address

Image: Illustrating Fields in Steem Wallet for Deposit Memo and Address

As illustrated above:

  1. With the needed Binance Deposit info now available, execute a Transfer transaction in your Steem wallet, to open a "Transfer to Account" dialog window.

  2. Click the "Copy Address" button shown for the Binance STEEM Deposit Address. Paste this into the "To" field of the "Transfer" dialog in your Steem wallet.

  3. Enter the amount of STEEM you want to transfer to Binance.

  4. Click the "Copy Memo" button shown for the Binance STEEM Deposit MEMO. Paste this into the "Memo" field of the "Transfer" dialog in your Steem wallet.

  5. Click Next, then OK to "Confirm Transfer." You'll then be asked to enter you Active Private Key to complete the transaction.

As with the transfer from Binance to Steem, it executes the other way very quickly as well!

SBD and / or STEEM from Bittrex to Steem Wallet


So @roleerob ... If your preference is for Binance, why do you have Bittrex in this post?

Because Bittrex offers you the advantage of buying and selling both external Steem blockchain tokens - STEEM and SDB. Binance, unfortunately (at least for now), does not.

Image: Setting Up Withdrawal Transaction in Bittrex

Here you see illustrated what you have to put into a withdrawal transaction in Bittrex, to get your SBD and / or STEEM transferred:

  1. Begin a SBD and / or STEEM withdrawal transaction on Bittrex.

  2. In the "Recipient's wallet address" field you put your Steem account name.

  3. In the "Memo to help route your deposit" field you put your Public Memo Key!

  4. Fill in the Amount and usual remaining steps, from there.

  • Note: If unsure about #3, details on keys are covered in my "Flying Start" post.

As with Binance, the transaction fee is a miniscule 0.01 STEEM. And the transactions are completed quickly! Mine were completed in ~ 1 minute.

SBD and / or STEEM from Steem Wallet to Bittrex



And the other way around? Here are the steps to go the other way.

Image: Illustrating Instructions from Bittrex for New Address

Image: Additional screen for STEEM only

As illustrated above:

  1. Begin a SBD and / or STEEM deposit transaction on Bittrex.

  2. Check the box signifying you understand what is clearly stated.

  3. Click the "Continue with Deposit" button.

  4. For STEEM only, click the "Generate new wallet address" button.

Image: Illustrating Bittrex addresses for SBD and / or STEEM

Image: Illustrating Entry into Steem Wallet

As illustrated above:

  1. With the needed Bittrex Deposit info now available, execute a Transfer transaction in your Steem wallet, to open a "Transfer to Account" dialog window.

  2. Click the little Notepad button shown for the Bittrex SBD and / or STEEM "Registered Account." Paste this into the "To" field of the "Transfer" dialog in your Steem wallet.

  3. Enter the amount of SBD and / or STEEM you want to transfer to Bittrex.

  4. Click the little Notepad button shown for the Bittrex SBD and / or STEEM "Memo". Paste this into the "Memo" field of the "Transfer" dialog in your Steem wallet.

  5. Click Next, then OK to "Confirm Transfer." You'll then be asked to enter you Active Private Key to complete the transaction.

As with the transfer from Binance to Steem, it executes the other way very quickly as well!

Any Other Options?



There are other centralized exchanges, i.e. CEXes, offering services for both STEEM and SBD that are not covered here. This post covers the two which I use.

Your humble correspondent is a big, big advocate for decentralized exchanges, i.e. DEXes. The one with which I am most familiar is Bitshares, as I am invested in it.

Sadly, while I fully intended to execute trades there for comparison in this post, there simply isn't sufficient volume to make it a worthwhile exercise:

Image: Trading Volumes on 30 Dec 2018

I am not alone hoping for the day when peer-to-peer exchanges really take off. The reality has yet to catch up with the promise. I know there is a lot of work going into changing that though, so we'll see what the market looks like a year from now!

Related Steem Accounts



To properly handle these different transfers, there must be associated Steem accounts tied to the Steem blockchain. From my experiences shown in this post, here they are:

  • @deepcrypto8 - The "To" account for transferring STEEM from Steem Wallet to Binance.

  • @binance-hot - The "From" account for transferring STEEM from Binance to Steem Wallet.

  • @bittrex - The account for transferring SBD and STEEM to and from Steem Wallet to Bittrex.

Image Source

These accounts just scratch the surface of all the accounts handling transfers back and forth between the various exchanges on the Steem blockchain. While I have accounts set up in others, my primary exchanges are these two.

If you want to have some idea of activity levels, go to these accounts in the interface of your choice. I prefer SteemWorld created by the great Steemian @steemchiller!

Closing



This post gives you a little window into my activities over the last few weeks dear reader. I hope you have found something of value in it, for helping you in increasing your own investment portfolio.

I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide. If I can help you with any questions, I'll happily do what I can!

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @ roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” early Monday morning, 31 December 2018!

divider 123.png


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Yet another great tutorial my friend! I have been thinkingnof this myself but am always hesitant to open too many accounts... I have relied on @blocktrades because I feel they have a great service and also provide so much more to the ecosystem and thus support them. However, I think knowing that these options exist are great! Thanks for your effort and sharing this!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @newageinv! I always appreciate your input.

As I touch on briefly here, my real enthusiasm is reserved for DEXes, although at the moment I am unaware of one that is fully "ready for prime time" ...

Still the promise of what they represent is very appealing to me. Not just as an investment, but philosophically ...

In the meantime, I think we all benefit from getting the Steem blockchain as widely known "out there," as we can manage ...

All the best to you @newageinv, for a great start to the New Year! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Also bitshares.org or openledger can be a good option.
Excellent post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for stopping by @toofasteddie!

Yes, agreed. I cover Bitshares in my "Any Other Options" section. I was chagrined to find so little volume, I just really couldn't justify the time to work through the details. I don't know the history though. Perhaps at one time they had more volume, but a victim of the recent downturn in the markets?

Do you, perhaps, know?

Bitshares and other dex are being hit by the bears in this market. They will recover as soon as the bulls will be back.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope you are right @toofasteddie. I would really like to see DEXes take off, as a viable option for all of us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Sounds good @partiko!

"Together, let’s change the world!"

Let's do it. Onward and upward! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.873 which ranks you at #4243 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 70 places in the last three days (old rank 4313).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 268 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87