You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Recovering From This 'Crash' in Crypto Prices. Why Invest In Steem? SMTs, Reinventing Our Image & Building Steem Co-mm-Unity!

in #steem5 years ago

I'm saving this to read it again, and am resteeming it. Thanks to @walkerland for resteeming it in the first place. I agree it's become far much more than a place to earn money for your posts (this initial selling point is what brought me here, but like for many, isn't what keeps me here). It's the HEART that keeps me here. I've talked about Steemit on Facebook about three times and had no bites or interest UNTIL I shared my little promo video for Natural Medicine (if you're interested, check it out here - it's about 2.5 minutes long and you might smile) and promoting the beating community heart that is very much @naturalmedicine. Sure, many of us are thrilled when we get a whale vote or earn a lot on a post, but what it's become over the last few months is a place to ask for help, to get support, to throw ideas about (without censorship), to be human. I don't see those members going anywhere in a hurry. I worry about new members - three of my facebook friends decided to sign up and are still waiting for accounts and I feel I haven't been entirely honest with them about the rest of STeemit - but how do I even begin to do that? I think one of it's great selling points IS the community here, the connections we make, the support we give, and the creativity that is encouraged and supported. Like me, so many people have come out of their shells here, realising they have far more worth than they originally thought. That's just bloody beautiful to see. I'd love to see SMTs be used for natural medicine in some way, but have no idea where to start really - at the moment, I'm just a facilitator trying to bring people together without censorship and with a whole lot of fucking love and maybe if there's some financial reward for that too, all the better.

Sort:  

Thankyou! It's true that many people don't engage with social networks much unless video is involved - so video certainly is a powerful tool. That said though, I'm not sure how valuable people are to a community if they are only passively consuming video - the more the merrier though!
Having promoted my own social network on Facebook and elsewhere (with no budget) for a fair while before Steemit existed, I know how challenging it is to get people's attention and inspire them to experiment with other options. Even with the incentive that they will get paid, many people never leave Facebook. This may partially be because so many of the accounts there aren't from real people and are actually created by marketers or social engineers.

The slow signup process is the main issue I am attempting to tackle by @steempassport - Unfortunately, we are limited by the inability to re-delegate steem currently and haven't had any signs that anyone is inspired to even work on this issue yet. There are other options available for solving the issue of creating free accounts, but none are straight forward - I will explore them all though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75