You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Rank - Using Page Rank Algorithm for Better Curation and Rewards

in #steem8 years ago

I completely agree. While incentive only exists for voting for predicted popular posts, actual quality content will continue and increase to fall by the wayside. Right now posts are considered valuable by vote volume and SBD, and posts with low readership are disregarded, despite whether 100% of the few people who did read it thought it was a quality piece. Currently 'successful' posts are not a true reflection of quality, and the current system makes it extremely difficult for anyone else to rise up. @condra, I read your post yesterday and actually wrote a post with a possible solution. https://steemit.com/steemit/@rhi-marie/freeing-minnows-caught-in-the-net-a-proposal-to-propel-quality-content

Sort:  

I've also been concerned about good quality posts getting bypassed simply because of vote value and SBD.

I wrote a post about a new feature "The Whale Feed", check it out. Unfortunately not a lot of people saw it, because ironically, without the whale feed, I got missed. :) Look at it here

posts with low readership are disregarded, despite whether 100% of the few people who did read it thought it was a quality piece. Currently 'successful' posts are not a true reflection of quality, and the current system makes it extremely difficult for anyone else to rise up.

Agree there is no economic nor recognition incentive to form communities, rather only to cater to the groupthink.

I read your post yesterday and actually wrote a post with a possible solution.

Post views can be attacked. A vote which costs nothing can also be attacked. Those are non-solutions.

I think I have a solution which involves not voting, but I am not quite ready yet to present it, as I am still analysing it.

It doesn't hurt to brainstorm. I look forward to seeing your solution

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71