NEW FEATURE REQUEST: The Whale feed.

in #steemit8 years ago

A special feed that only whales see, that high reputation minnows and dolphins recommend for review.

This isn't a complaint. It is something we've all seen. I'm looking for suggestions.


I love curating other people's posts. I enjoy reading quality content like some people do, and I love upvoting and contributing to the best ones.

When I write (what I think to be) a quality post. I love it when other people see value in my content and appreciate it enough to vote me up too.


Herein lies the problem..


Sometimes while I'm bouncing all over steemit, looking for quality, unique content posts to curate.. I find a few that really impress me.

Now that person who wrote it -- they deserve a golden star.

Awesome post! I love it. I upvoted it. Just wait until everyone else sees it!

...and then I revisit it a couple hours later, and they have the quality post undervalued syndrome. I've had that illness before, now I see someone else come down with the same illness.


It's true. "Getting paid" as so many people put it, really should be considered "a BONUS".

So we shouldn't think in terms of monetary value.

The conundrum is that if you don't attract a lot of monetary value, then you lose popularity of your post, and it scrolls off with very few people seeing it.

Quality important content, needs to go viral. Not for money reasons, but because it's a real quality post. It's a solid contribution to humanity, and it needs to be seen by as many people as possible, so it gets the attention that it deserves.


So this is less about me. It's more about other fellow bloggers in similar situations.


I want to help them. My upvote counted for 0.02 cents. I helped them a tiny pittance. I want to do more. It's a selfless act. But until I'm a whale, there's nothing else I can do.


People talk about vote clubs. Minnows (with +5 reputation) with little voting power, should be able to recommend a post be "reviewed for promotion" to a whale club.


Which means, whales could see the "reviewed for promotion" posts on a "whale feed" -- a special feature for whales.


Now of course, minnow bot owners, could "try" to promote their own feed -- but their minnow bots don't have reputation.


But we do need a whale feed, so whales (who are busy) can hop on the network, look at their own feed for

followers, and then look at "what's trending for possible promotion" on the whale feed.


Things don't show up on a whale feed, until 20 or more high reputation minnows or dolphins all vote it up

for review.


This solves two problems:

a) Real quality posts, that only minnows and dolphins found, that don't have enough steem power can show it to whales for review

b) This gets people a "second chance" at consideration by whales, instead of the whales having to find it themselves.


Perhaps the design of this new feature isn't perfected yet. HELP ME PERFECT IT WITH YOUR IDEAS.

Do I make any sense?

Sort:  

At best it would be papering over hole left over by system being weak (or even broken) by design.

20? what if platform grows by order of magnitude? ... two orders of magnitude? ... suddenly finding twenty might be too easy ... then what about having enough whales to curate recommended posts?
Do wealth diffusion rates will be fast enough to keep whales from being overwhelmed?
What if platform does something stupid, or get competition and shrinks? Suddenly hard-coded number will be too much ...

... and then you have ancient problem that one person's treasure is other person's garbage ... and i saw no effort to take on that by steemit ...
... but that discussion probably deserves post of its own :)

I agree with you completely and think that something of this sort has to be implemented and will with time or otherwise people will get tired of how unfair the system is

Wow. Yes. Agreement 100%! I found this post at "6 minutes ago" (now twelve as I am reviewing my comment) and am glad I did. I look at the "new" feed to find great content that I otherwise wouldn't see in the "featured" tab for the same reason we need a Whale Feed. This post needs to be seen more... (which is incidentally the point of the original post!) Good luck, @intelliguy!

As it turns out my whale feed idea, and the steemit store, got merged into:

The promoted feed, where steem still gets burned, and good posts can get promoted.

Novel idea @Dan and @Ned! (no one will see this because its a 3 week old post. But I wanted to update it for prosterity)

Problem with "quality" is that everyone has a different opinion about what "quality" means. I keep having this discussion over and over again. What i might consider a quality post...you might not see the value of it, simply because you don't like it, or you are not interested in the topic, or you have a different view about the subject...see my point there ?

No, I don't. Only because I suggested it take 20+ people with solid reputation to ask for a whale review. That's a lot of people with good reputation (but low steem power), to ask for a whale review to put it on the whale feed.

Yeah it makes sense...

I like the idea. I don't know how exactly to implement it though. Maybe we could create a hashtag to post our daily pics in, or designate someone as a leader. We would also need a way to work together and filter through the content.

Hi @intelliguy Yes! This makes perfect sense to my mind. Just as we all (minnows,/newbies) already need curators to point us towards best value content as the platform grows exponentially and we enter 'data shock' figures; so obviously must the Whales also. How could they not?
Have you any updates on this idea yet? I see it is a week old now. Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45