You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit necessary changes

in #steem6 years ago

I don't see what can be done to make it fair. I don't think that your proposed solution will work. It will boost voting on others content a bit, but it won't solve the core problem. From what I see, the accounts with a lot of SP are not doing anything, they are not posting, they are not commenting,... they are leasing that power to the bot owners and collecting money.

The whole thing depends on the new users getting engaged and profiting enough to stay and invest their time in it. No new (and active) users and the whole thing goes down.

It's in the interest of the big players to prop up the small fish, but who will do it? Not me, not me, not me,... A classic example of the tragedy of the commons. Everyone is going down, but there are no incentives for a single individual to do anything about it. Lease your STEEM POWER to the bots and collect the money while it lasts.

Perhaps, the whales should put together a Welcome aboard! bot that will upvote the efforts of the new users. I don't know.

I was very enthusiastic about it, but the more I read and the more I see the less I like it.

Also, I'm not hating on those with a ton of SP. They are doing what they think is in their best interest. I don't hate the players I hate the game. I've been mistaken about what the game is when I decided to join in. I thought it was something better, but it is not.

Sorry for ranting on your blog

Sort:  

No reason for sorry, I really like to hear other opinions and I agree with you at many things.

Good points, however I myself have never leased my steem power to anyone, nor do I ever plan to do so.

Why not? As I understand it is a good way to make money.

I'm not hating on anyone who is leasing their steem power. I'm just ranting a bit for I've found that the article does not live up to its advertising :)

"Why not? As I understand it is a good way to make money."

If money was my bottom line, I would be much more richer than I already am in "money"

Perhaps someday in the future I will make a blog post on steemit about why money is not my bottom line.

And when you write it I'll make sure to read it.

I think if steemit had an advertisment, and users got paid on a per click basis it might help generate more revenue for new users.

They could also spread their posts around on social media, generate more traffic to their posts and promote steemit at the same time.

What did you expect exactly?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52