Free the Food #37 ✔ | "The Most Expensive Food you Buy is the Food you Waste" [2018-04-11]

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

“You Don't Need a Silver Fork to Eat Good Food”

..:: * ::..
by @reko
..:: :: :: * :: :: ::..

Steem Power: 10,388.478 | Reputation: 68.45 | Followers: 5793

DSCN1788.JPG

dividerblue.png

Another succesful food rescue mission accomplished, was so tired after so I fell asleep but here it goes. Unfortunately my main place to dive has put locks on the container but still got one good place left in my area that throw away a lot of perfect quality food daily...

dividerblue.png

Latest Update:

DSCN1762.JPG
Lizzy is helping out! ;)

DSCN1763.JPG
Filled to the brim with perfect quality food...

DSCN1767.JPG
Could only bring home a part of everything on my bike...

DSCN1779.JPG
Time to head home holding Lizzy in one hand and balancing all the food on the bike

DSCN1784.JPG
Our new fridge in the basement getting filled up...

DSCN1796.JPG
Found three bags of dog food for Lizzy and a shipload of lingonberry jam!

dividerblue.png

Current Free Food in Stock:

Oranges
Lingonberry jam
Dog food
Pizza
Lemon
Brocolli
Cucumber
Blueberry juice
Carrot juice
Mandarin juice
Chocolate oat milk
Pomegranate
Avocado
Onions
Tomatoes
Peppers
Bread
Coffee
Coffee drinks
Mushrooms
Carrots
Herbs
Chicken
Crème fraîche
Salad
Sun dried tomatoes
Yoghurt
Wheat
Apples
Crisps
Flour
Salmon
Garlic
Potatoes
Mustard
Etc...


dividerblue.png

Past Treasures:

DQmcPzrxCEW3puHpK97BhLDtcXt1nydQwwnx1kqT3qT6mwx.jpeg

20180408_235838.jpg

DQmYEWFo5zxBXnYpj2nexCcdwhV8smF3tvntxC3jJz2gEK7.jpeg

DQmWZhjoLiByGmY6DNFaGFV6smydYkbE6NQTV1ks3v5fMjJ_1680x8400.jpeg

DQmbJSbndUNjeZxmK6wNa2G5Nz1AGm6yvoEDqpmfLHmdCmF.jpeg

DSCN1580.JPG

DSCN1530.JPG

DSCN1513.JPG

DSCN1460.JPG

DSCN1430.JPG

DSCN1383.JPG

DSCN1293.JPG

DSCN1227.JPG

DSCN1187.JPG

DSCN1160.JPG

DSCN1070.JPG

DSCN1007.JPG

DSCN0926.JPG

DSCN0843.JPG

DSCN0684.JPG

DSC_0110.JPG

DSC_1471.JPG

20171125_153536.jpg

20171121_233510(1).jpg

20171120_140255_resized.jpg

20171120_135818_resized.jpg

20171109_172449.jpg

20171020_233506.jpg

IMG_7207.JPG

IMG_7317.JPG

dumpsterdiving.jpg

dividerblue.png

Dumpster diving

The practice of foraging in garbage that has been put out on the street in dumpsters, garbage cans, etc., for discarded items that may still be valuable, useful, or fixable.

Introducing Trashwiki, the collaborative world wide guide of creating value from trash! Here you will find plenty of trash-related articles: you can search by specific countries and cities to find the best places in your area!

dividerblue.png

Why do I Dumpster Dive?


| Bring awareness on how much food is wasted with our current system |
| No costs enabling me to minimize my dependency on Fiat |
| Save the abundance of food that is wasted and share it |
| No need to power down my Steem Power |
| Great regular exercise and good karma |

dividerblue.png

Thursdays Weekly Meet-ups:

We meet up on Thursdays in the middle of the city to share the food we've saved during the week. It's a great way to meet, connect and support each other. We meet between 6-7 pm at the same time as the decentralized farmers market that I've initiated!

dividerblue.png

I've got great plans for 2018 and beyond and intend to work hard to achieve it. The Steem blockchain is the perfect place to create positive change as it rewards individuals that contribute to the community and humanity at large. I am wholeheartedly dedicated to this platform and my intention is to create solutions to our current predicament and unite humankind once and for all

I regularly invite people over to share the abundance which I've been doing for many by now and nowadays I of course take the opportunity to introduce them to the Steem blockchain!^^

dividerblue.png

LINKS:
SteemFollower - Receive More Upvotes.
SteemEngine - Receive More Upvotes and Followers.
SmartSteem - Buy Upvotes, Sell your Votes, Bid-Bot, Delegate SP.
Steem Schools - Discord Server to Learn and Grow - Together We Win.
Openledger - Decentralized Exchange for Trading Crypotcurrencies

Welcome to Join my Discord Server!

dividerblue.png

CHEERS, STAY TUNED & MAY THE STEEM BE WITH YOU...


thealliancereko

Sort:  

While I buy most of what I consume I also do the same.
I also find myself throwing food once it rots, because at times I buy too much due to crazy low prices.
In my case, I usually dumpster dive for another reason, to rescue drink packs which I get fiat for handing them for recycle.
Once in a while I find good food.
In your case, it seems particularly good.
Ban places which lock their dumped commodity.
This is quite an evil practice.
Not purely evil, but still evil.
At the same time, respect the places that do not do it, by buying in them once in a while.
If their prices and service justify it.

You got a 19.42% from @th3voter thanks to: @stimialiti!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 98% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

yeh I have also been recycling cans lately for fiat... here you get $0.15 for every can so pretty nice...some times I find a lot of them that the store thre away for some odd reason...or even better full cans of for example beer which ofc is a treat and then recycle for fiat!^^

Where I am, most bottles and cans are worth roughly 0.0857$ at current USD prices, which are fixed in the last year or so, like almost every other price.
There are a few bottles which are worth 4 times, which is around 0.34$, but they are much rarer and harder to find, and heavier to carry, although the biggest and heaviest bottles are worth as little as I stated before.
And then there are also bottles on which one gets nothing.
I found some full bottles of beer too.
I wish to sell them as beer is disgusting and bad for the health.

You got a 22.99% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 47.62% from @th3voter thanks to: @stimialiti!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 98% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

You got a 13.94% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 20.00% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 22.73% upvote from @profitbot courtesy of @stimialiti!
Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 85% @profitbot profit based on your delegated SP
by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
10SP|20SP|50SP|75SP|100SP|200SP|300SP|500SP|1000SP|custom

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

You got a 9.52% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 22.22% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 14.29% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @stimialiti!

Good post.Quality food :)

Wow. You actually do dumpster dive?
That's pretty impressive.I hadn't any idea on what it was all about. I can't believe all that is wasted food.

I do indeed and been doing for 7-8 years by now!^^
Impossible to fathom how much is thrown without having seen it with your own eyes...

And to think there are so many starving homeless people out there. Life can be pretty unfair sometimes.
It's really humbling to see you doing this out of choice.

Wow..you are really kind person,you want to share free food to others,I am sure there are much happiness to all receiver.success for you

thank you, it's a blessing to give...makes everyone happy including me!;)

Oh my... these foods look like they're still in really good condition! But why do people throw them away?... 😢Great news the world has people like you @reko who "rescue" these foods...Even the term "rescue" shouldn't exist when it comes to food, but sad to know people put them to waste and make food need rescuing.

Anyway, thank you very much for sharing this @reko and continue doing awesome and valuable work! All the best! Cheers!

ty @everydayart! Yeh it's being done systematically by the stores and the employees have no choice but to throw it or lose their job unfortunately! :/

Yeah... that sucks. 😔 But all thanks to your efforts in giving these foods a chance to fill people's hungry stomachs. By the way, I just remembered I saw quite the same thing on Youtube, featured by Great Big Story. It is a "food rescue" where volunteers salvage unwanted (but still good) foods from supermarkets and harvest extra produce from fruit/veggie farms, and give them to people

HEy reko, every time I look at those pics I always silavate... yummy 😋 , can you send some to Nigeria 🇳🇬 heheheheh! Great pics... do have a nice day!

lol think it might spoil before arriving!:P

Every one of your stories makes me shake my head at the amount of waste and dross. I really admire your mission here Mate.

ty mike!^^

I see your posts like this periodically on my feed and every time all I can think is... seriously? That's how much good food people toss?

When my dad was still working, he worked for a national grocery store chain and we had a blackout that effected many states. I lived two hours north of him and was not effected by the blackout. WOrkers at the store were tossing all the perishable food away in the dumpsters in the back of the store. Once there it was free to all. My dad loaded up his full-sized van and brought me all the food. I was a divorced mom of three, had three freezers and two refrigerators- Believe me.. it was so appreciated and we had enough meats, dairy products and more that kept us fed for months.

I am just appalled at the waste.

yes it is awful to witness and what's makes it worse s that most stores have strict rules that their employees are not allowed to save anything that is thrown away...

Thanks for sharing sustainability
I like this food

nice idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62164.65
ETH 2439.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67