You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free the Food #37 ✔ | "The Most Expensive Food you Buy is the Food you Waste" [2018-04-11]

in #steem6 years ago

I see your posts like this periodically on my feed and every time all I can think is... seriously? That's how much good food people toss?

When my dad was still working, he worked for a national grocery store chain and we had a blackout that effected many states. I lived two hours north of him and was not effected by the blackout. WOrkers at the store were tossing all the perishable food away in the dumpsters in the back of the store. Once there it was free to all. My dad loaded up his full-sized van and brought me all the food. I was a divorced mom of three, had three freezers and two refrigerators- Believe me.. it was so appreciated and we had enough meats, dairy products and more that kept us fed for months.

I am just appalled at the waste.

Sort:  

yes it is awful to witness and what's makes it worse s that most stores have strict rules that their employees are not allowed to save anything that is thrown away...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63