Where is Steem now?

in #steem8 years ago

When I joined Steem, about three months ago it was just coming out of the pot era. Some of you guys will remember that every post to do with pot pretty much anyway got upvoted nicely. Since then I have learned a pretty fair amount about the steem technology. I am about 3/4 of the way through reading the steem white paper and I have been running a mining node for steem for around 1 1/2 months.

Source

In that time I have had some successful posts and I have gathered some followers as well, all of who I follow back and enjoy the content of.


raymonjohnstone9b430.jpg

Something I just came to realise tonight while thinking about it is steem itself and the community (those two things may be the same thing) is actually in metamorphosis right now. The reason for this is the growth we have seen as well as a number of other things but the growth is what I am focusing on.

Source

I would like to think of steem being in its caterpillar stage right now but that caterpillar is weaving its cocoon and that is an exhausting process that is the reason for the seeming discord in the community as well as in the price. Fortunately for us we all know what comes after the cocoon. However I'd like to take this opportunity to point out that just because we are in troubled times doesn't mean we need to get at each others throats. We are all here to some level because we believe in the possibility of change that we can have a brighter future then it looks like we do right now.

Source

That is all I have for the time being thank you for reading.

This post was vaguely inspired by reading @whatsup take on this recently here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatsup/communities-come-together-during-challenging-times-and-things-get-better


VDgSIzO-Imgur26180.png

Sort:  

If we all get on and work together helping each other things might just get better :)

I fully agree with that karen thank you :)

Your welcome :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Excellent observation! These are tough times. I think it can only get better.

Thank you Micheal! I hope you are doing well.

You're welcome.

I'm doing well. Thank you for asking @raymonjohnstone.

I hope you are doing well also.

I am certainly doing well, don't forget to tune into #steemittalkpodcast for local news bro :)

I'll check it out. :)

Soon, pretty soon I believe that Steemit will be the most amazing butterfly ever seen!

I fully agree Poetic!

Yes through the fog will shine the sun.

Absolutely brother! Thank you for the response.

I wish you well on your mining venture.
I often wonder if I could do something similar then I realize how much i'm NOT a geek. Still it'd be interesting.

There is only ever one way to learn my friend. I hope you try it out.

I dunno...
but your experiences mining steem would be good material for a post.(or several)
what equipment you use. (would a raspberry pi work....or several in parallel?)
etc...etc...

Well since there is already lots of documentation on this here on steem i havent seen value in doing that, I can point you to some if you like? Also no Pis used to be good enough to mine steem however they are no longer due to system resources required, possibly a cluster could work but I have never played with cluster pies before so I dont know for sure. I mine with a simple 2nd gen I7 processor 3.2ghz 4core or should I say 2 hyperthreed with 8gig of ram, it runs on a basic desktop installation of ubuntu and i actually just leave it in the corner with no monitor attached lolz.

Great comparison. Resteemed and upvoted! Spread the positivity! Keep on steeming!

Thank you :) I very much appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39