Is There A Case For A Private Steem Wallet?

in #steem6 years ago


I am throwing this out there and maybe it has been discussed before and maybe it hasn't. . I normally don't like doing posts about the Steem interface because I think the platform is already flooded with too many posts about Why Steem is Great, Why I Love Steem, Steem Changed My Life Forever, Steem Sucks etc. etc. etc. However, I have been thinking quite a bit about this topic so I guess I will unfortunately add another post about Steem.

If you don't already know or haven't realized, anyone can do a simple Google search, type your Steem username in, and view your wallet. You can try it out for yourself. The entire value of your wallet is available for anyone who has access to the internet. In fact, anyone with an internet connection can see everything you have ever done within Steemit, including posts, comments, replies, etc. We are operating within Steem land and in a decentralized environment but ALL of the content is available for the entire world. This wasn't really news to me as I figured this out prior to becoming a Steem user but I figured there may be some people who haven't caught on to this.

The topic of this discussion will only focus on wallet privacy. Below I am going to pose a list of questions and would appreciate hearing the community opinion regarding the subject.

  • Would you feel comfortable posting your bank balance online for anyone to see with internet access?

  • If one day, you have a large Steem balance and you are not operating anonymously on Steem, will you feel regret because anyone can have access to your balance?

  • If you didn't realize that your balance is available to anyone outside of Steem, just as it is available to those within the Steem community, does it make you have different feelings regarding if you should or shouldn't be anonymous? In other words, does it make you feel uncomfortable?

  • Does the wallet being public provide any benefit to Steem users?

  • Are there any other crypto tokens with public wallets?

  • Should the wallet stay public or should Steem users have an option to turn a privacy feature on?

  • Would interactions become more authentic without Steem users bank balance available to anyone/everyone?

  • Is there something I am totally missing that makes this whole post nonsense? Is there a specific reason why there can be no wallet privacy inside and outside of Steem?

Thank you in advance to anyone that decides to participate in this discussion. Hopefully I will learn some new things and maybe you will as well.

@rawdawg

Sort:  

Yes there definitely is! Not for steem power as I understand reasons that should be public but for steem yes 100%!

Yup, I agree.

At the least, wallets should not be visible to anyone outside of Steem.
I would truly like to see absolute privacy in all wallets, but...who am I. Lol

I agree! My girlfriend got pissed I had money in here and didn’t tell her. It should be only to member of our community 👍

If you don't plan on marrying her, you prolly shouldn't have told her. ;)

Loading...

You can hold liquid assets on the internal market, and they don't show to the public.

Are you referring to an exchange? If not, how did you accomplish this? Thanks.

It's a feature of the internal market?

Yes they do, if you have 100sbd waiting for exchange on the internal market, your wallet will say:

$0.000

(+100 sbd)

How much do I hold on the internal market?

Well damn!

Very interesting. I wonder if there is a tool that actually shows this..hmm. If this ends up being untraceable, you may have actually broken Steemit. lol

I think he may be referring to an actual exchange

Nope, liquid sbd can be set to sell on the internal market at whatever totally unreasonable price you want to gamble on, and it won't show in your wallet.

It does show the pending amount. They just have to go to steemd

Unless I’m mistaken. Either way this is a great point and post 👍

Yes, you can see the trades placed on steemd.
I would presume that that data could be pulled with a script, but for the common user, you can hide your liquid steem on the internal market.

Interesting, thank you for the response.

He...Or she is right. Pretty crazy.

I knew you could set any buy/sell price on the internal market but I didn't know it was hidden. However it isn't entirely hidden as it is still shown on steemd. for instance if you go to my profile it should say that I want 66 steem for 2 SBD, so if they wanted they could figure it out as steemd is public as well.

For instance 3 days ago you placed an order for 0.566 steem and you were paying 0.34 steem

Yes, that is true.
I would think that a script could pull the data, but for an average user it is not easily found unless you know where to look.

Well, or found one of their hidey holes.

I'm sure somewhere on the blockchain is a record of how much i have on hold for sale.
But, it may diffuse the issue under what orders I have placed.

I have a question about this into someone much smarter than I, as this has intrigued me. I'l let you know what they say. :)

That would be very nice of you.

It's a feature of the internal market?

like ledger-nano?
I'm all in!

Anything to make the wallet private would work. Nano sure.

I don't trust online, or even browser, wallets...much.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

As far as my limited knowledge on crypto is, majority of blockchain tech wallet content is public. For example, BTC and ETH both have blockchain explorers that you can view balance in any address. Only XMR is the only that wouldn't allow an explorer.

Tricky thing is that Steemit links your identity to your wallet and it makes it easier for people to see. However, even if you manage to hide it, there is still ways to find out how much you have. SteemD and SteemDB would show most of the infos anyway.

I want a hardware wallet for Steem, too, like a USB stick or something. That'd be nice.

You got a 16.67% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @rawdawg!

Wow loved your post...loved reading it....it's amazing....thank you for sharing have a good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85