You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Decentralized" YouTube Alternatives on Steem? Nope, Not Yet | A Detailed Look at 3Speak and Dtube

in #steem4 years ago

I was already aware of the details on how DTube stored their videos, but honestly I hadn't even attempted to look into 3speak. Thanks for the tutorial. Reading through all this, it sparked an idea for me. What would stop someone from running a peer-to-peer network and just use Steem to index it? I remember that's one of the reasons some of the other P2P networks got shut down was because some of the activity was necessary to be centralized, making it vulnerable. If one were to run it off of Steem, could it be technically feasible to make P2P 100% decentralized by making each user's computer a storage/sharing node and running everything else off of the blockchain? I'm not technically literate enough to ask the right questions here I think, but if anyone can share some insights, it might spark something good here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84