You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit necessary changes

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I haven't looked that far yet either. BTW, another thing I learned from that big fish, which seems important, that many do not do (probably because we thought upvotes come out of our steempower) is while steem power enables how influential one's upvoting gives, upvotes do NOT cost a cent and on the contrary actually earn curation points. That might be a good post to do once I can verify the validity of it all. Of course that's not to say to upvote every post and comment either. But I did think that point was fairly significant in the way steemit functions. It's just not clear enough yet to me, given I don't recall seeing any curation yet and I know from my first day I upvote those I like. Maybe I haven't seen it yet because my steem power has been so low. Time will tell...

Sort:  

Yes, I read that recently too! That would be a good idea. Is it commenting AND upvoting for curation? Let's keep this chat going and when this post closes, we could tell if conversation helps--

Good question. I'll have to go and try to find out... Have an awesome day :)

BTW, here's really good video on many of the complexities of Steemit Curation Rewards:

Seems way too complex at the moment to create a post on until I can really figure it all out. I guess I've been going a bit overkill on the upvotes, LOL... because my voting power is down to 25% at the moment.

lol ok what are the implications of that?? I read vote 10
Times a day full power is best because it regenerates that much back daily but I’m not sure what happens when you upvote a ton—

LOL... Like I did... The voting power goes down from 100% and thus when you upvote it is worth less than 100%, which effects (or limits) your curation potential, as I understand it. In other words, yesterday when I added a good chunk of steem to my steem power I noticed each of my upvotes gave about 3 cents (0.03) and towards the last ones they were a penny or so. So I'm trying to detox from upvoting to let it recharge. Did you watch the video? He does a great job going fairly in depth.

BTW, if you look at https://steemd.com/@vgc5000 you will see you are at 100% strong.

I want to go find the other video I saw a few days ago, implying at one point to upvote everything and you get more yourself. That was from a guy who has been here several years and is an even bigger whale. I'd like to ask him, especially since Brandon doesn't seem too keen to reply to post, despite saying he does. That limit of 10 or 11 upvotes/day, which I think is very limiting, could be one of the many things that has changed here, such as this new feature they seemed to add yesterday which appears to break each comment conversation into appearing as if it's it's own post thread, which to me seems a bit strange and I'm not sure how much I like it. Brandon did say that once you have, I believe it was, 500 steem in steem power you get a slide bar option to adjust what percentage you give to different one's you upvote. Thus, you have more ability to give more weight to the content you like the most. So many complexities...

Yes I have that bar. I noticed when I upvote, it will go for 8 or 9 cents then down to 6 etc. So that must be the diminishing power. No I haven't watched yet. I have our season opener April 15 so I've been trying to work on that first THEN steemit. But I really want to do that the other way around and work on Steemit first! ;)

I know the feeling... I'm juggling and bouncing between 3 or 4 different things now...

BTW, despite what success I have had on steemit and how much I have learned in now 11 days of being active thus far, I just noticed that I still have yet to get anything at all in "Curation Rewards"... So either I've missed something completely or it must have changed since the videos and few posts were created that I've seen. Perhaps later today I can find the time to take a deeper dive into all things "Curation Rewards" to see if I can find the missing piece. I gotta admit that steemit is like a game or maze with so many aspects to explore as to the workings of it's full operation; and I love an adventure... LOL

It is crazy. Now I’ve read and commented for 2 days and haven’t posted. Now I will have to look and see what I’ve gotten for curation —

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95