The steem miner´s question

in #steem8 years ago

Hi,
I started to mine yesterday, with some comunity help I set up everithing and it works.
I chceck my balance saying:

0.000 STEEM 12709.198402 VESTS 0.000 SBD

What does it mean and mainly what can I do with? How and for what can I use VESTS?

But later I checked was the same. Is it true just Witnesses can get rewarded from mining? If yes how to be Witness(is it ok that rabbits 0-60 are everywhere-waiting lists... and so one)? If not where when my mining reward will appear?
Is there any ..pool.. option if it is like just 100 Witnesses can be rewarded?

Thanks, for everyone for help.

Sort:  

I spend my last 2 days by reading articles but upper mentioned questions were not 100% clear, thanks.

Im still new to mining Steem, but what I have learned through reading various articles and plain experience is that you can earn by mining, posting, and upvoting. When you are mining, the witness(s) you setup will enter a block mining queue on occassion and you are rewarded for completing that block. While the witness you have setup is mining the block, your miner is inactive which is why your hashrate drops to around 1-3 hps. Once done, it will return to the original full hashrate and your rewards will be paid out to your account in the form of Vests, SP, etc. The reason why you see rabbits 0-60 so often in queue is because that miner has setup several witnesses (which is recommended) so when one of your witnesses enters the block mining queue, your miner does not go idle. It allows for the next witness to start and eventually enter the block mining queue and so on. There are a few guides on how to setup several witnesses for your miner.

Hi, this is how my miner looks like:

Where to set witnesses I didnt set it(or I dont know about it), I set my miner by instructions found here:
https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows

Thanks for help :) What witnesses is good to set? and how?

Looks like you are mining. You just need to wait for your miner to enter the block mining queue. It's random it think. As for setting up your witness, it's in step 8 of the guide you linked above.

Ex.
name of witness controlled by this node (e.g. initwitness )
witness = "popper"
witness = "popper2"
witness = "popper3"

You will also need to setup an equal number of miners for your witnesses

Ex.
name of miner and its private key (e.g. ["account","WIF PRIVATE KEY"] )
miner = ["popper","5YourPrivateWIFKeyIsVeryLong"]
miner = ["popper2","5YourPrivateWIFKeyIsVeryLong"]
miner = ["popper3","5YourPrivateWIFKeyIsVeryLong"]

How many witnesses are good to set? + How long does it takes to get something? I know that is randomly but approx? when was your first reward?

I just setup 3 in my config. It differs. I had one system enter the mining queue almost immediately once i set it up. My first system that I setup took an entire day before it entered the queue. I have a 3rd machine that has been going for 2 days and has still not entered the queue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50