Why Steemit is the New "Gateway Drug" of Cryptocurrencies

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

In 2013, I was pounding the pavement in Vancouver in my ongoing quest to introduce bitcoin to new users. It was nothing if not an uphill battle. The hundreds of altcoins that followed didn't do much to help either. If anything, they just added to the confusion.

What we needed was a gateway drug - something that was both irresistible and super easy to start using. We needed a killer app to lure people in and get them hooked once and for all... Three years later, I do believe we have it.

This is my post-launch review of Steemit, intended for sharing on other social media platforms. Because I'm holding a comfortable amount of steem and steem power now, I don't even care too much about upvotes. I really just want this baby to grow and thrive out there in the world so if you only do one thing with this, please just share the ever-loving shit out of it.

Sort:  

@piedpiper Good video, man! Keep posting!

Thanks! I certainly shall :)

Some jerk has copied this post word for word and re-posted it:
https://steemit.com/cryptomining/@neyson/why-steemit-is-the-new-gateway-drug-of-cryptocurrencies

lol wow

nicely done, mate. :-)

thanks :)

Very good point man.. Steemit is the first really "cool" thing to get everyone interested in crypto and being able to earn it easily :D

Yup. Come for the vibrant publishing platform, stay for the pay.

vibrant-ish. we're long way from starting to pump up good content constantly, i think. I hope to see for example someone publishing a book started in steemit posts. maybe evenme :D but hope...it's there

It's coming! My partner arrives on August 12th and then the real magic begins. https://steemit.com/filmmaking/@piedpiper/crowdsourced-filmmaking-on-steemit

I think the creativity is just getting unleashed. The floodgates have been opened! The content will improve quickly, I think. The author here is right, Steemit is a phenomenal way to introduce and retain new users to cryptocurrency.

seriously u can earn thousands of dollars from voting the top posts

"Gateway drug" is the perfect term... because every millennial can do very basic web design. No reason to churn out free content when you can get paid.

damn straight! I wish this existed when i was a kid.

good balance @piedpiper. I too (just as @nineyards did) got into Steem and Steemit because of you. I also got into DASH because of Amanda's videos. I think that the future will be owned by the DAOs that understand how to incentivize participants and adoption.

That's great! Dash is a cool concept too but for the record, I don't have any. I'm keeping an eye on them though. Who knows, I might get into it at some point yet but it has to develop a fair bit more to draw me away from here.

What a bright future we have ahead of us. :D

I came here two weeks ago because you mentioned STEEMIT when you were interviewing Amanda. I have 60 dollars in my pocket all because of you. Bless you, piedpiper!

ha! Now that's what I like to hear. Welcome to the madness, nineyards! :)

You still need to convert Steem into bitcoin to actually spend it until online merchants support it.

We already accept it for real estate at Fort Galt. ;)

when i heard of Bitcoins i thought 'YAY i am going to make some money' but reality strikes...it was very hard to mine. Now Steemit is here and i think it can help earn average users like me.

Exactly, I stopped mining bitcoin two years ago. This model is so much more accessible by comparison.

I agree. The entry barria is much lower

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64912.75
ETH 3524.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42