[Alpha V2] Introducing Screem - Feeds, Followers, Settings oh my!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmTwPD4ngPLpsKxiAUN1yyEHqBCYafA5q2bXBu79zBKGGd

Screem

Bringing social networking to the blockchain age.

What is screem?

Steem's value comes from its prospects. It is a content creation network that is fit to replace current models of social networking. The first iteration of social networks is steemit. Steemit allows content creators to get paid for well thought out and interesting blog posts. Unfortunately, this does not fit the style of all users. Twitter did not get huge because of well thought out blog posts, it got huge because of witty sentences. I believe this model of social networking can be added to steem as well. This is why I am introducing the Alpha of Screem (working title). Screem is a twitter clone that allows users to follow there friends and give them money for making them laugh. As of right now it's a CLI client and a web front end. This is a very buggy proof of concept. It only allows for sign in, discover, post, and vote functionality, but I believe it can be more as it has economic incentives of steem and all the social incentives of twitter.

Changelog

I figure every Alpha I should include a change log so here is one

Alpha V2.0

  • Added Persistant Login
  • Added Followers page
  • Added Feed
  • Changed Design
  • Added Follow buttons and functions
  • Added Sign Out
  • Try clicking on someone's name in your Discover or Feed page ;)

Screenshot

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmWUBsdZaGYas5G4fzpg1Jtjpt2kJWsLkkjG361z9HuVDV
https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmNrvgsmKvCBtA2in7DUNBtKcmLhYKkv7PA131pM2cQVUc
https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmVtDpov76S3nuGmJRGh2zD7zpNVJs4TqG24yvftZJjhih

Alpha V2

And Finally, on to the alpha. You can go here to access the online demo.

Final words

Thank you all for reading my article. I hope to get more attention to this project. I am passionate about building the steem ecosystem and I think it is important initial apps are done right, so if you have any gripes or want to help out I would gladly accept any pull requests you have here at my github

https://github.com/NateBrune/Screem

Anything else please just talk with me in the comments or on steemit.chat. I am natebrune on there and you can join our community at #screem. Also if you want to stay up to date please consider following me right here on steemit or screem. Thank you one last time, I hope you enjoy.

  • picokernel
Sort:  

I like seeing these different ways of using the underlying Steem database.

I have a few notes.

It seems that the Screem UI is only paying attention to whether the post has the #screem tag and not whether it has the "screem" value in the "used-by" field of the post's JSON metadata. For example, the post that I am replying to is included in the Screem feed (using its title as the content of the "tweet") even though it doesn't have the "used-by" field in it is JSON metadata. Steemit users may wish to tag their long-form posts with #screem to discuss the Screem platform, but may not wish for their post to show up as if it was a "tweet" (what are you calling it instead, a "screem"?) in the Screem feed. So I think it makes more sense to just filter based on the "used-by" field you already create using your UI.

Using posts for micro-blogging is not the best idea since the change to Steem which put a soft limit on the number of posts in a day before a penalty is added to post rewards. Every tweet/screem people create using Screem will eat up into their quota and lower their potential payouts on the long-form posts they create on Steemit. What I would like to see instead is for Screem to utilize comments for its tweets/screems so that users can micro-blog as much as they want without hurting their post payout rewards. However because there is a time limit of 31 to 44 days after the top-level parent post of a discussion is created before no new comments (or at least the regular type that can earn money) can be posted on that discussion thread, your platform would have to be a little clever with how it manages the comments and discussion threads. It would essentially need to create a new post for the author once a month so that it always has a recent designated discussion thread in which to post new comments by the author that act as their tweets/screems.

Other ideas for future improvements include using the JSON metadata to refer to another comment that is also acting as a tweet/screem, in either a way that acts similar to a retweet on Twitter or in a different way that acts similar to embedding a tweet on Twitter. The Screem UI could then enable similar features (rescreeming and embedding screems) and represent them appropriately by taking advantage of the appropriate JSON metadata.

Finally, I noticed that the time displayed on the tweet/screem in your UI uses the last edit time rather than the creation time. Was that a deliberate decision? I think it would be nicer to show the creation time but also include in parentheses the last time it was edited (if it even was ever edited).

Everything you said is spot on. We are doing it this way from now on.

cool, I think it's a good idea.. most funny and things of humor need to be short and simple.

I try to limit the words I type on the post I have video on so the video will be the point of focus. Shorter presentation helps make the joke funnier

Happy to hear it. I agree with you that's kinda the inspiration behind it.

I'll sell you BitTwits.com ;)

Here we go! Exciting times ahead. Great job @picokernel!

Interesting, will take a look tomorrow on the github page. I'm still learning so can't help yet, sorry. Thank you for your efforts though!

This is so amazing. You're breaking new grounds man..

I'm not great with witty one liners but looking forward to seeing where this goes.

This is a really great idea. Twitter is the only social network I still use regularly. It would be great to have a Steem based option for that too. I look forward to see how you develop this.

Is this squeek.io now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58