Hard Fork 21 coming: what to expect & your thoughts

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

As most of you probably know, our blockchain will soon undergo another hard fork. It will actually be the 21st hard fork already and it might well be one of the most radical and controversial as it will probably come with a number of major changes. Therefore, it is quite natural that there has been a lot of noise, debate and emotions about it lately.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmitwN7pzcKBwsW4mTuoLrVHzT99qDiqZdgVupizwM5AYURkLUAAcvgQApmd45.png

I have never been much into technical stuff and obviously, hard forks are pretty technical matters but as a proud and active Steemian, I feel kind of obliged to make sure I have at least a thin grasp of what this thing is about so I have been browsing through posts with the #hardfork tag to get some idea of what we can expect from the upcoming hard fork. I have read a few interesting posts on this topic but there is one particular piece that really stands out and that I found really greatly laid out and super useful. The post was written by @justineh and you can find it HERE. I know I could have just resteemed the post but in my experience, people don´t pay much attention to resteemed stuff and I would also like to know your thoughts on this topic, so I decided to create my own post to get some feedback from you guys.

Obviously, it is the planned 50:50 reward split that has been causing most controversy, especially after it turned out that it will be the authors´ (and curators´) portion of the reward pool that additional 10% will be taken from to fund the new worker proposal system (SPS).

Naturally, content creators now worry that they will be getting smaller payouts once these changes are implemented but I have read some interesting arguments claiming that quality content creators might eventually earn even more than before.

The other changes that the HF21 will bring, such as the downvote pool, the convergent curve in curation and the worker proposal system, have been also discussed emotionally in the community and they all have both advocates and opponents.

As for me, I don´t want to make any estimates at this point. I think only time will tell whether the hard fork has brought more positive or negative things but of course, I am hoping for the best :) How about you, my Steemian friends and followers? What are your expectations from all these changes? Let me know in the comment section below ;)




uvodka.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #ecology, @crypto, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming! :)

Sort:  

I think nothing much will change :D Self-voters will still earn a TON, and yes there's free downvoting for 'correcting' wrong behaviour but the abusers also have those free downvotes... Including a few nasty whales. Bidbots will stay alive, and people are not suddenly going to 'curate' now that's earning more since... Those that have been lazy the past years will not suddenly start going to spend time on curating. So they will change maybe their delegation to automatic votes on some content, but that's about it.

So yeah.

That's me.

Being pessimistic and all :P And optimistic at the same time, all in all this is just an experiment that needs to change its ways from time to time to keep things interesting - who knows what we'll find we can do for Steem with these new 'rules'.

Witnesses are the biggest winners here: they don't have to hand in a percentage of their income even though the cost of running a witness has been lowered drastically with MIRA, and on top of that they are often developers that now can try to get funding from SPS :-) Good times for them, and let's see if the content makers will be compensated by curators for their loss of income?

Well, it is quite discouraging to see someone so Steem-familiar like you to be so pesimistic about the hard fork but I am sure you based these concerns on some solid info and experiences. There are many various scenarios of how this thing will pan out and what you described is definitely one of them. What gives me hope that this hard fork was proposed with good intentions is the simple fact that all of us here in this community, from the tinniest planktons to the largest whales and witnesses, have one common goal and desire - the healthy growth of Steem and its price. If this project crashes, nobody here will benefit from it. So I tink there is no other option for us but pull on the same end of the rope.

Just remember I know nothing :D I only know people are unpredictable and those that were greedy before will be greedy after... Doesn't mean that their greed ends up being 'good' for the community - we'll just have to wait and see :D

If we want to make it to 15k it might have to happen from other sources though, our posts might start to earn less :P

Well, once a hard fork makes the greedy go for manual and fair curation (because that would be the most efficient way to maximize their profit), we win :) I am not saying this is the case though :D

Yeah, I am really curious about how our post payouts will change after the HF. Well, other sources... I have been already paying quite a lot attention to curation (currently earning some 3 Steem daily through curation only) so I might put even more time and effort into it.

3 STEEM a day from curation is GOOD! I suck at curation because I vote what I read so it's never in the 'optimal' timeframe or whatever. So maybe I have to start teaching myself to curate better ;-) You could easily go to 6 STEEM per day with HF21 - that's some serious income per month!

Jsem zvědav, jak to zamává s roboty nebo s pronájmem SP.

To já taky :) Nechme se překvapit.

It's for encouraging more members to curate the content and get rewarded. But its effect at first the small authors means who have less audience for their content.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah. Hopefully, smaller accounts that produce good content will get enough visibility and rewards with more people curating.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49