You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project: Steem Flag Rewards Program

in #steem7 years ago

I have written a couple articles on the flag issue as well as suggested site improvements. I will include them at the bottom of this post.

I do agree that positive reinforcement for flagging is not a bad thing. That said and correct me if I am wrong, your bot will

  1. Scan for posts with the highest $$$ downvote (e.g. downvoted by pissykitten, caitlynsanders, transformersguy etc.)

  2. Create a post about the downvote to discuss the validity of the downvote

  3. If determined to be valid, take that posts earnings and give the lions share back to the original whale that down voted it. As his proportionate down vote would entitle him or her to a higher percentage of post payout (whale life is good).

Perhaps take that posts earning and use half to curate a few under 50 authors or return the lions share to those under 55 and $100,000.

It's odd as I just don't want to see a situation where those with the most $$$ are making more for doing what they should of done in the first place. Take the @ha ejin thing and the behavior on both sides. It went from simple flagging over rewards to 100 percent downvotes by those with +600,000 SP of dissenting comments by users of rep 40 and lower or with less than 250 SP; essentially downvote overkill.

I'm not sure if I would of wanted either side to be rewarded for how they behaved or continue to behave. This is a tough scenario or perhaps I am not fully understanding the concept.

https://steemit.com/steem/@pawsdog/join-me-in-discussion-to-build-a-better-platform-pawdog

https://steemit.com/steemcleaners/@pawsdog/steemcleaners-useful-fallacy-or-wasted-effort

Sort:  

I hear what you're saying. To keep it simple, I was thinking of calculating the rewards in proportion to the vote negative rshares compared to the total so yes, technically, a whale using a full weight flag is going to get more than a minnow with the same.

I don't necessarily see a problem with stake being a benefit for curation but I am not a fan of it being used on the author side. I have grown sick of the "Well I invested money in the platform so I get to put my comment/post at the top" mentality.

But yeah, with our only able to set 50/50 rewards, not sure what the function of SP would have in light of this projects intent. I could have it upvote the flaggers last post which I could see as being a nice benefit.

I'm up to work on the project and see if there is any merit to it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41