Predicting the Price of Steem and EOS using R Script - Steemit Business IntelligencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Today I decided to use Power BI with R Script to try and predict the price of Steem and EOS at the 31 Aug.

The thing is I don’t know R Script, so I need to rely on the fact that Power BI is a self-service business intelligence tool.  Self-service meaning I shouldn’t need any programming knowledge.

There is a suite of Custom Visuals, some created by developers and some created by Microsoft, that run on R Script.  In essence, all I have to do is install R and the custom visual and then fire up my data in Power BI.

Steem Prediction

To gather initial data, I connected Power BI to the web page https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem/historical-data/ and pulled in the closing price and dates from the 1 Jan 2017.  Then with the click of a button I added my Forcasting R Script visual, set the forecast period to the 31 Aug and here are the results I got

I am predicting a closing price of Steem on the 31 Aug to be $1.36.  Our ‘too the moon price’ will be $3.57 assuming a break out and rally.  However on the opposite side there is also the possibility that the price of Steem could sink to $0.39

Obviously these price predictions are working on an algorithm based on previous daily closing prices and do not factor volume or other market factors.

EOS Prediction

Using the same custom visual I decided to also have a look at EOS.  This is a new coin so there are a lot fewer data points to be analysed in the algorithm.

Unfortunatlly the outlook isn’t so good.  I am predicting a closing price of EOS on the 31 Aug to be $1.31.  There is a to the moon price of $1.70 but EOS could also crash down to $0.99

By no means in this financial advice.  This analysis was prepared for a bit of fun.  In fact to be honest, my knowledge of Cyrpto currencies and blockchain is limited to the Analysis I have prepared here on Steemit.

This is original Steemit Content

Interested in data or Business Intelligence?  Join the Business Intelligence Steemit Community on Slack

You can Join the community here:  https://sbcautoinvite.herokuapp.com

Once you have joined the community, hop over to the #bisteemit tag and introduce yourself. 


Sort:  

just to clarify what you've presented here from a trading standpoint, it's a probability curve based on historical volatility. It's often used to get a rough idea of the expected trading range over time for options-related strategies.

@alexpmorris thank you kindly for sharing this with me. As I always say everyday is a school day. I know nothing about technical analysis

Great job explaining.

You've got a bright future ahead.

This is extraordinary!

Amazing effort.

Keep sharing such content.

You've exceeded my expectations.

This is truly exceptional.

Nice charts! Where can I find your R code? Is it on github?

lol this is not my R code. I use power bi and this is a custom R visual that I have downloaded. I know nothing about R.....

EOS is in route to $2500.00 USD after ICO

Incredible, once again. Even stabilizing around 1.36 - 1.40 would be nice. The recent up/down cycles are frustrating.

I still hope Steem price will be over $4 this year :D

Another great post Paula. TA aside, I'm betting STEEM is going to over $2 and here's why.

  1. Dtube
  2. Zappl
    As I mentioned in my Tech Thursdays post, usage is key. Both of those new platforms are/will be using STEEM. More usage = more demand.

Toss in the fact that Crypto is big news in the mainstream finance world and you've got lots more investors coming in looking to invest. More demand. Those investors will be looking for platforms with fundamentals and the two reasons above, plus Steemit would make STEEM a very nice coin to invest in. Oh, and the prices of STEEM is cheap atm.

It won't be going anywhere near 0.39 unless of course there is some unforeseen catastrophe, like bots running amok stealing from the rewards pool ;).

Absolutely amazing.

You make it look easy!

You've done your homework.

You've got serious talent.

This is impressive stuff.

You've got skills to envy.

Power BI ... R Script... hmmm, i'll share with you what I use :

haha as long as it works for you :)

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wonderful,though I know its just for fun, steem was predicted to have a year ending price of $4, I wonder where that went to. . . . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87