Just a quick thought....Reputation

in #steem5 years ago

Steem reputation system has been 'broke' for a long time. Reputation grows as a publisher gets votes from accounts with a higher reputation than them. Because of this, bidbot use enabled you to grow your rep faster than the non bot user. An account less than a year old with a rep of 65+ for sure smells like a bidbot user. It's kinda a bummer because I didn't buy my rep, but celebrating rep milestones didn't happen with me because reputation scores were not trusted.

Steem reputation had such a bad stigma steemUA was created to try overcome the problem....I dont see or hear much about that these days

Now #newsteem has a hold, bidbot use is down. I just seen a post from @lion200 celebrating a steem reputation of 60. Which made me think

Should we be able to rely on steem reps more under HF21/22 than we could under the previous system?

Or

Is the steem reputation fundamently flawed and how can we solve that problem?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

An account less than a year old with a rep of 65+ for sure smells like a bidbot user.

I went from 25 to 64 in about 3 months at the start of 2017 - no idea how.

I think the way it works is flawed in many ways as there is far too little distribution and the weighting on stake is too high for the most part. but, I have no idea how to fix it.

that's a big jump from 25 to 64 in 3 months. nicley done. I don't think that is common these days

I really have no idea how because it wasn't like I was earning much on my posts

The concept of a reputation score is fundamentally flawed. Each user holds others in repute based on their personal values, not those of the community. The current rep score is a collective assessment, as well as being simply a commodity you can buy, so only approximates relevance to individuals (even if you ignore that it is just bling).

UA is better, because it is somewhat based on how an account is interacted with by other accounts, and this reduces it's commoditization, but it still isn't personally relevant to users with unique values. A better mechanism would be reputation based on accounts each user itself regards as reputable. For example, I reckon you have good sense, so your real reputation to me is fairly high. Accounts you regard highly would then be tentatively assessed as potentially of good repute, but my own personal regard would eventually refine that score based on my personal values in the event I interact with that account directly.

Basically, reputation should be derived from the reputation those we hold in high regard provide to recommend them to us, and then refined by our personal values after we gain familiarity directly. My reputation to you would be different than it is to another user, and yours to me different than to others as well.

This is how reputation actually works IRL, and why it's useful. The current collective model of reputation is only useful for those seeking to mold themselves into the collective, and has no value at all as long as it can just be purchased.

Thanks!

Indeed @valued-customer. The concept of a reputation is indeed flawed and it doesn't seem to mean much any more.

Interesting comment buddy

UA is better for sure, although I'm not sure how it's doing these days and I don't think any apps or even tribe token distributions used it.

Steemit.com Re'puta'ition!! };)

Nice discussion.
I choose to go the hard way and natural growth of my rep. That's why the celebration :)
It is hard if you don't choose the bidbot way.
But it doesn't say much indeed, although I also look at reputation and sp holding when I check out on some posts/authors.

Congrats to your 60. I had the same idea (and still have) and I have to admit some whale delegations and votes have made it easier to get to where I'm now.

Thanks a lot! :)

And when you work hard for it you deserve to celebrate. you did it organically, that's awesome. next stop is 70

I have been here around an rear almost and my rep islike 54 and its grow really slowly as i don't have much votes from higher rep or bigger votes.
So i think rep would be trustable if it can't be boosted by bidbots and grows naturally.

Posted using Partiko Android

if it grows naturally, I would like to think it becomes more trustable

The reputation is important though because it is basically projects a good image sometimes for the steem user. @paulag that is why some people are afraid to flag because it might cause them their rep score.

giving flags does not impact rep score, only getting them does. and the problem is " sometimes " is not really reliable, is it!!!

I still enjoy the reputation scoring I get from the UA system as I can see the ups and downs of my activity with each post.
My Rep score very slowly but surely climbs but I pretty much ignore it especially when I see some of the chancers with the highest ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

heheheh I didnt like it so much when my UA ranking dropped from like 18 to 118 because a witness went offline. but yea looking at the post stats is good.

Hi @paulag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.559 which ranks you at #158 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 115 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

When does Reputation actually matter? So far only for Planning steemfest and for selecting Witness. (Trust Based services)

Posted using Partiko Android

I tend to look at rep when I come across an account I am not familiar with, that and when they joined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62