Is the Sky Really Falling?

in #steem4 years ago

image.png

source

Always use a parachute :P

         

image.png

I personally don't believe the sky is falling, but from the initial reaction (or overreaction) of some sections of the Steem community based on very limited information at the recent news of Steemit being acquired by Tron, you would have thought so. Of course, everyone that has a stake here (big or small), should have some concerns about the 'future' and how it all plays out from here, but in the long run this will very likely benefit everyone as a whole...from both an investment point of view, as well as enable more opportunities for Steemians within communities and the coming roll out of SMT's and/or other emerging blockchain developments, to continue to grow their stake.

The reality is, that many Steemians have been calling for a change in policy and direction to entice a mass influx of new users to the Steem blockchain for a long time now. Well then, here is the perfect opportunity for that right here.

We all believe the blockchain is the future, and we are seeing it evolve in multiple ways, right here and right now. This was always going to be part of the evolving nature of the platform, to help inject more user growth and add more value to the Steem token both economically and as a utility of exchange. It really was inevitably going to be the case at some point in the future.

Different users and communities may have a different outlook, based on their own niche interests and core values, which is also understandable. For example, many are concerned at the prospect of their free speech being suppressed. I myself would be extremely concerned and unhappy if that was to happen. However (for the time being at least) I really doubt that Tron would want to change anything as it currently stands, and/or create the atmosphere of a "hostile takeover" as some users have expressed it. It wouldn't be in their best interests to do so and would diminish their investment and potential growth in the blockchain space. I think that is their primary goal here. Even if a "hostile takeover" did occur, there are other ways around it, and I'm sure the witnesses will be keeping a close eye on how things evolve from here to protect the community from any such actions.

I am quite optimistic and positive about this news myself, but time will tell. Either way, there will be ample time to change our opinions' both individually and as a community, of where this is heading as we move forward, and as we get more detailed information and specific details about Tron's acquisition of Steemit and their future plans.

Nobody knows exactly what will eventuate. One thing is certain though (or at least I hope so). The sun will rise again tomorrow. Keep Steeming away!

         

image.png

         
         

As always, have a great day and PEACE

         
         

Sort:  

Lol the sun will rise again you say :) Agreed we don't know and I guess a person must consider Tron would want to do which is the most beneficial to all involved. Which I don't I think it is a power trip and they can't give two fucks about Steem as a chain. It is just another thing to destroy. I got my popcorn though so will wait and see.

Yeah whatever I guess, popcorn it is. But I think I've seen a few very ugly things over the last few days (even more than previously) as to why this platform is the way it is, and why it is failing. Nobody will ever admit to it though for the fear of being sidelined and forgotten. Also, the status quo is just way too profitable for some. And then you have the people in between who think they are a "someone" and take on the same behaviours that they once denounced. It's very sad indeed as far as I'm concerned. Instead of worrying of what might happen, I'm more interested in what I am seeing right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15