You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Steem: So Now That Curation is More Lucrative, Who's Creating CONTENT?

in #steem5 years ago

Yes, we are bloggers and we do it for the readers, not the money. Still, it irks me that folks who are far richer than I am are now making more money on my work than they were before, and I am making less. That really bugs me.
I have never had a post make $20. I am delighted when they make $2. Now my $2 is $1, I have to share more of that with my benefactors, and my upvote is worth next to nothing unless I stop upvoting people just like me, which also really bugs me.

Thanks for discussing this with such a positive attitude. I'm having some difficulty doing that.

Sort:  

I hear you... and I understand the frustration, too.

I've been here at a time when Steem was only worth $0.07, and I have been here at a time when I not only had back-to-back $100 posts, but went entire weeks with no post below $50. Sadly — regardless of whether this is the "unicorn" known as the blockchain, or not — the truth of good gigs like this is that they tend to become close to worthless, in time.

For me, the "promise" here always laid in the idea of "communities," which Steemit, Inc. first promised a couple of years back. The user created "tribes" created through Steem-Engine are actually approximating that... and I believe a few of them (created and maintained by long-time content creators) will end up doing well for those who are involved... especially the interest-specific ones like PhotoStreem and CreativeCoin.

Anyway, appreciate the comment, and you got yourself a new follower.

I've been a bit annoyed with those tribes too! Something new to learn and gamble on. I'm not a gambler and my learning curve on steem is very steep. I'll check out creative coin - people do mention that one to me a lot.
Pleased to make your acquaintance!

Yeah, I hear you about the learning curve... part of the entire Steem community's "growth issue" is related to the fact that it's "too hard to use." People expect a "log in with Facebook" interface and then they are done. Not this.

I like the CreativeCoin group because the founders/leadership team are rock sold and active community participants with long histories. AND they are into moderating content for spam, plagiarism and what have you. You have over 1000 tokens "just sitting there" in your Steem-Engine wallet, if I were you, I'd go "stake" (aka power up) those and collect a little extra from your upvotes on worthy creative posts. Adding 10-15c per post isn't much but it all adds up...

I can power up the tokens for steem? I was thinking of selling some of them to buy steem, and delegating any that an entity might want. But no one wanted them as delegations, except for weedcash and creativecoin.
I have little idea what I am talking about. I want to write, make enough money to be a somebody somebody knows, and give to my friends. I was just starting to be able to do that, then WHAMMO. This. blech.

The tribes will add to your income right away. If you go to steemworld you can collect all your rewards at the same time. Use the tags, get new readers, its nice. They you can trade the rewards (or stake them) and your income can be more like before the fork.

Ok thanks for the info. I'll try to be more mindful of using the tags. Is that all I have to do? Use the tags? Somehow I got a whole slew of these WITHOUT using the tags.

The ones you get without using the tags come from upvoting people who did use the tags. I am not sure why I get payment from tribes where I have 0 stake, but as soon as I get a token, I start collecting it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66505.48
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90