STEEM and SBD just helped a teacher and a farmer in Kenya to get solar electricity

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hey friends,

Something amazing just happened!



By some miracle @improv dug out an old post of mine, dating back to the last year. He checked with me if the project was still active and, after a brief exchange in the comments section, transferred 10 SBD to my wallet on STEEM. A few minutes later EUR 60 (an equivalent of 20 SBD – ten from @improv and the matching amount from yours truly) were invested in a solar energy project in Kenya.

Thanks to @improv’s goodwill and the tools for collaboration and financial freedom made possible by Steem blockchain, a Kenyan farmer and a teacher will get solar electricity, which will prevent a total of 484 kg of CO2-emissions from being released into the atmosphere each year:

And the best part? You can invest too! Either by following @improv’s example and doing it via my project Sparasol or going directly to TRINE and investing through them:

https://www.jointrine.com/just-invested/30628

(you will get a €10 discount on your first investment)

Please let me know if you have any questions or other kind of feedback in the comment below!



Sort:  

Which portal did you use to convert steem in euro ?

I didn’t. I had some euros left in my e-wallet on TRINE, so I used that amount to invest in the project and kept the SBD. Otherwise I would probably use @blocktrades to convert STEEM or SBD into BTC or ETH, take it to the exchange and sell for fiat.

This is simple and awesome. I would like to see crypto and especially SBD used more like this but there are some tax problems when cashing out. Sometimes I think that I should make myself an NPO.

What kind of tax problems do you face?

I have a contract to work only one job and if I am making fiat I'm working two. The banks catch it.

this is very cool oleg :)

Thank you, Basil! Long time, mate! ;) How are you, buddy?

yes! Im well.....very inactive on steem these days as my life has kind of taken over in a busy way for a while.....I keep meaning to post again, but it just doesn't seem to be happening. fortunately, it is because my life is very good right now, so I am happy to rest my steem blog for now ;) All is well with you?

Good to hear about you being busy and enjoying your life, Basil!

Everything is well with me too, thank you for asking. I'll be finishing my current job in one month from now and looking forward to a new exciting chapter in my life. One possibility is that I’ll study an international MBA in “International Financial Analysis” at the Jönköping University here in Sweden for a year, starting in August. I will know the selection results on July 12th. Or, if I’m not admitted to that MBA, I plan to move to Portugal in late July. I’m planning to chill, learn to code smart contracts and then do some work as a Blockchain developer (including remotedly). I am going to take a course in programming on the Ethereum, NEM and EOS blockchains from June 1st.

Stay well, brother, and good luck with everything you endeavour to do. And, if I make a move to Portugal, I hope you will visit me there sometimes. Warm wishes from Sweden!

wow! that all sounds really exciting! I wish you the absolute best, and would definitely love to come and visit you sometime, whether in portugal, sweden or otherwise! Good luck with those selection results, and the programming courses sound VERY interesting too........!

Wow, when our old post still live and make a difference. That must have felt great to have someone find your old post and you still able to help.

Very cool @oleg326756.

Can you give me a short explanation how TRINE works in your experience?

Hey @buzz.lightyear,

Yes, sure. They find project developers operating in Africa who are in need of funding to realise their projects: sales of solar PV panels, solar lanterns, installation of solar micro-grid infrastructure and similar. TRINE mobilises private funding from crowdfunding investors (an investment can vary from €10 to €10,000) and lend to the project developers. The project developers implement the project, repay the loan to TRINE plus the premium (aka interest). TRINE splits the premium between themselves and the lenders, so everybody benefits. That is in the nutshell. TRINE has some good short videos explaining the whole model.

@oleg326756 You have received a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

I don't have a lot of voting power, but I did want to thank you just the same. Please consider it a thumbs up and perhaps next time we meet, I'll have more SP to share with you.

Thank you! Cannot give you thumbs up on Steemit (it’s not Facebook, after all), but I did upvote your comment. Good luck! ;)

aww what great news! so nice to hear your could help out, again :D💗

Зарегистрировался на MANNA по вашей реферальной ссылке.

Отлично, спасибо!

Just saw this! I have since gotten my Romanian friend to invest as well! Yay for doing good!

Awesome! Well done, @improv! Yay indeed! ;)

@oleg326756 Hooray for future tech aka the blockchain!

Heya! About to make my own investment! Could you send me back the 30 euros worth of SBD so I can? Thanks!

Hey, Brendan! Yes, sure. Give me a couple of hours to convert some of my crypto back into SBD and I’ll transfer it to you by the end of the day.

I have 0.15 DASH (which is equivalent to EUR 30 at current prices) that I can convert to SBD via @blocktrades and send to you. Or I can transfer 0.15 DASH to you as it is, if you like. Which one do you prefer?

Let's do SBD... or LTC or BTC! I don't have a DASH address. :) Thanks! If you want it to be either of those other, let me know, and I'll send you the address!

I think SBD will be the easiest option then. :) I’m €2 short on this DASH address of mine: https://chainz.cryptoid.info/dash/address.dws?XpzZdhtq4tmJzDP9TERyGFV8ZpnL2gKkPu.htm , but I’m expecting an incoming transaction to hit it any minute now, and I’ll be sending you SBD as soon as it does. Stay tuned and thank you for your patience! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64