New to Steem - Question About Posting

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I am new to Steem as of today after having heard about the platform on another forum and reading the Steem whitepaper for some background.

Are Steem postings supposed to be more like blog or article postings, or more like forum postings? When I think of forums, I think more of users submitting questions for answers and comments - and maybe more occasional posts on stories or things of that nature.

What I have seen on Steem so far tends more toward users writing articles, like what you would expect to find on blogs.

It seems the posts I would categorize as more of forum-style posts are fewer and farther between here. Is the intent for Steem to be more of a blog style source rather than a forum for discussion?

Sort:  

Hello @ohioinvestor! Honestly? They can be whatever you like! A simple one image post, a simple one video post, 30 images, 250 words + images. Whatever it is you need to tell your story. It is totally up to you.

I will say, the more popular posts seem to be more of a blog style, but I think that is because people on Steemit are not so interested in rewarding posts that just copy and paste images + content found elsewhere on the web.

I believe, this platform is more for a person to tell a story someone wants to actually read. Think about the sort of stuff you would like to read. That is probably how the majority here feel? I like a compelling, confounding story, even. Something I have not thought about before, or seen. I like creativity, and learning from others. I think this is more of a sharing platform than anything else. A place to share ideology, open up heated debates and so-forth. Of course, we are only 2 months live, so we will see which direction it takes over time...

Of course, these are just my opinions and observations.

Thanks for your observations and input! It's funny - I actually enjoy reading forum-style posts where someone asks a thought provoking question and then users with a variety of viewpoints chime in. Always learning things from reading, and different users find different angles I wouldn't have thought of myself. I will have to explore a bit more and find some of the involved discussions you're referencing.

Dive in! Plenty of good stuff lately, in fact, my upvote button is being worn out. :P

I am the same, I love those rabbit-holes reddit gets into. We may be missing that component a little around here yet, but I am sure it will come. I just don't think we quite have the variety of minds available here, just yet.

Steemon! <3

p.s - I am your first follower. ;)

Be aware of the four post threshold.
If you are looking to make money on your efforts then it pays LOTS better to write four long, good, well thought out, (blog style) posts than it does short , snappy, chat style comments. The fifth posts only counts three quarters of what the first four do, the sixth less than half, the eight less than a quarter. After than it continues to decline approaching (but never quite reaching ) zero. If you post twenty times a day they are worth fractions of a penny, at most.

There is a similar (but more complex) algorithm in place for votes. Five votes per day is optimum
.

Comment the hell out of thing though...No limit. Conversation and a sense of community is desired.

Thanks for the information - definitely helpful to understand. I got some of that reading the whitepaper, but you definitely explained more clearly!

Hi there. There is a lot of spam and bots and fake bullshit with new accounts, so being a real human with good intentions, I suggest you make an intro post with a photo, and build up a "personal" reputation as someone with specific interests and writing style.
But yeah - write about whatever you like!
Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65