Do not trouble trouble until trouble troubles you and now might be a good time for change

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Here is my fifty cents contribution in the: 'how to change Steem for the good' - challenge. Aparantly seems to have been some kind of a panic sell lately. And again, I cannot hold my breath on this one. Like I could not in the past either. So, it would be dishonest for me to just shut up, move on and have a life in the analogue reality. Even though what I am about to post is a bit like the image that I added, as good as impossible to get through. But I will give it a shot anyway.

So, here I go without further ado, my suggestions for a better Steem foundation:

  1. Stop as soon as possible with superficial Symptom Treatments
    Steem is not Big Pharma, where it profits to keep humans ill, now is it?
  2. Disconnect Voting from Steem Power
    Want to claim Steem is fair? Proof it then.
  3. Give part of the inflation to the Steem Power owners
    They become shareholders in effect and deserve interest.
  4. Remove the Voting Percentage
    Make a different calculation to set how many votes an account may give every time period.
    This could be based on the amount of Steem Power owned, the account's Reputation and the account's Activity
  5. Take amount of 'real' Views into account in the Reward calculation
    This one might be tricky, but it could really make a difference.
    Almost like a Proof Of View {POV} reward.
  6. Remove the 'Self Vote 'possibility
    If this is such a 'pain', then why not just drop it?
    Yes, I do it myself, it is there to be done so, if it were not, I would not miss it...
  7. Use curation for reputation and activity weighting value changes mainly
    It pays to contribute in a more indirect way.
    Just upvoting should only give a small final payout for curation.
  8. Replies should carry more weight in than upvotes
    This influences the reputation and activity weighting also.
    This could tackle 'hustler' bots and massively created 'fake 'accounts.

My eight suggestions will have a major impact on how Steem will develop further. One major effect is that the Steem Power owners will become stake holders. So they are not considered to rule and control the rewards system any more, but want to make sure that the 'Steem blockchain company' stays healthy. It is in their best 'interest', wink-wink-nudge-nudge, to make sure that changes are being made that will give them a 'wanted' Return On Investment {ROI}.

A final word

Now, I really do think that Steem can be changed for the good, on a foundation level. That is why I call for, what I see as, an end to some Symptom Treatments. And also to show that Steem Power holders can be rewarded in a different way, while making voting more fair in the proces. Even handing over ideas that might help putting 'husling' botnets and mass fake accounts out off order.

Sad thing for me though is that I had to make a difficult private decision to innitiate a Power Down sequence for this account, for the time being. Life where 'money rules' sometimes makes an unexpected housecall.

Anyway, this account is still here, as it will be for as long as this blochchain keeps on rolling. With or without a Steem Power amount attached to it. Nothing can keep me from posting here, well it can of course, but you know what I mean, right?

Have a great one!



cc0 licensed image by Comfreak at Pixabay

Sort:  

Good points, I agree :)

Thank you for your support Karen, I do appreciate it! =D

You are welcome, its nice to see your name back up there :)

Thank you Karen, if less frequent, well, a lot less, I'm still around. :-)

Some good points dude and as ever it is good to read your posts!

Thank you Mate, glad you appreciate it.

some great points, as they say Things can only get better... no shame in powering down, no point in having a value on rewards if you cant cash them in when needed.

Thank you for your support and understanding Stephen!

I disagree with all points.

Still voted for the post.

I hope your are not mad at me now :D

Thank you for your vote anyway Felixxx. B)

To me it is okay that you disagree with all of my suggestions.
And there are other things in life that can make me mad, not this. ;-)

Actually I smiled when I read your reply and upvoted it.

(Shait, there goes my voting power percentage!)

I appreciate your opinion on this topic. ( and other topics too :P )

It's just that I don't share this opinion, this time.
Have a nice sunday :)

Thanks, we cannot always agree, and that is okay too. ;-)

Whish you a nice sunday too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81